Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

    April 15 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Historical    Fiction
Core Collection: Russia's    Pressure Points
Top 10 Historical Fiction
Carte Blanche: The Past    Is Present
Core Collection:    Remembering the Great    War
Top 10 Historical Fiction    for Youth
Top 10 Historical Fiction    Audiobooks for Youth
Features
Spring E-reference    Update: Databases and    E-books


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2014: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2014: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Great Reads: Comics with    Strong Female    Characters
Great Reads: Black    Novelists under the    Radar
50 Years, 50 Books: The    Assassination of JFK in    Fiction
Romanced by Rafe: Six    Sexy Books Where It’s    All in the Name
Recipes Are Included:    Seven Sizzling Culinary    Romances
Great Reads: Sports from    the Inside
The Free MFA in Creative    Nonfiction: Save Your    Money and Read These    Books Instead
Richard Ford and Timothy    Egan Win Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Excellence in Fiction and    Nonfiction

From BookLinks

April 2014

April 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Awards

Likely Stories
Book Group Buzz
Audiobooker
Bookends
Shelf Renewal

Review Of The Day
Mending Horses
By M. P. Barker

In 1830s New England, Irish immigrant Daniel, formerly indentured as a servant, gains his freedom only to be accused of stealing his former master’s horse, a rumor that quickly escalates to include mass murder and leads to his near lynching. After his fortuitous rescue, the teen travels to a nearby town and falls in with his old friend Stocking, now accompanied by 12-year-old Billy.

    >>Read More



Top 10 Historical Fiction for Youth Top 10 Historical Fiction For Youth
By Ilene Cooper

Stories set around the world and across eras are the hallmark of this year’s crop of best historical fiction titles for young people, all reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2013, and April 1, 2014.

Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy. By Elizabeth Kiem. 2013. SohoTeen, $17.99 (9781616952631). Gr. 8–11.

Set in 1982, this atmospheric, suspenseful story follows Marya and her father, who recently emigrated from Moscow to Brooklyn. When they’re given potentially dangerous information, decisions must be made.

Top 10 Historical Fiction Top 10 Historical Fiction
By Brad Hooper

Over the past 12 months, the historical fiction genre has been widely divergent in subject matter and approach. Even better, there is no reason to believe authorial creativity will dry up anytime soon. What follows is an annotated listing of the best historical fiction reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2013, and April 1, 2014.

Forgiving the Angel: Four Stories for Franz Kafka. By Jay Cantor. Knopf, $24.95 (9780385350341).

Cantor’s newest fusion of biographical fact and intuited emotion is a commanding tribute to Franz Kafka, one of the twentieth century’s most revolutionary voices, and the stories Cantor presents here affirm his standing as a virtuoso writer of conscience.

2014 Carnegie Medal Read-Alikes: Fiction Carnegie Medal Read-Alikes, 2014: The Fiction Shortlist
By Donna Seaman

The finalists for this year’s Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction tell richly imagined, acutely observed, and profoundly involving stories of loss and dreams, immigration and alienation, in Nigeria, New York, Las Vegas, Europe, and a small Haitian fishing village. There’s a lot to work with there for those after read-alikes, and the following list should keep literary-fiction devotees going long after the Carnegie winners have been announced.

Direct readers seeking more novels like the first Carnegie shortlist fiction title, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah(Knopf), to these three tales of the African diaspora, which also offer strong points of view, vividly realized settings, and even, whenever possible, wit.

Carnegie Medal Read-alikes: Nonfiction Carnegie Medal Read-Alikes, 2014: The Nonfiction Shortlist
By Brad Hooper

With the announcement of the six shortlisted titles for the 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Fiction and Nonfiction, librarians and library patrons will be scrambling to read all the finalists before the winners are announced on Saturday, June 28, during ALA’s Annual Conference in Las Vegas. But for those who have already read the full shortlist, why not try some read-alikes? Below you’ll find similar titles for the three nonfiction finalists.

For the first shortlist title, Doris Kearns Goodwin’s The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism(Simon & Schuster), try these related titles.

Blogs Like us on facebook Tweet
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications