Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

         July 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Middle-Grade Reading
Core Collection: Ramona    Quimby's Cousins
Spotlight on Business
Top 10 Business Books
Hit Men Tell Tales
Features
High-Demand Hot List
The Booklist Carnegie    Medal Interview,    Nonfiction
The Booklist Carnegie    Medal Interview,    Fiction
At Leisure With Joyce    Saricks: In Praise of    Browsing
Read-Alikes: Life After    the Apocalypse
High-Demand Hot List For    Youth
Outgoing Mail: Marcel    Proust


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers
Politico Thrillers: 8    Washington Insiders    Who'd Rather Be Writing
Murder Castles and Urban    Infernos: 7 Historical    Mysteries Set in    Nineteenth-Century    Cities
Art Noir: 12 Graphic    Novels Where Crime Is    Shaded Gray
When Friends Let    Friends' Fists Do the    Talking

From BookLinks

April 2014

April 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Awards

Likely Stories
Book Group Buzz
Audiobooker
Bookends
Shelf Renewal

Review Of The Day

The Long Way Home
By Louise Penny

Until now, Penny’s challenge in her best-selling Armand Gamache series was to imagine new ways to take the chief inspector of the Sûreté du Québec from his Montreal home to the vividly evoked village of Three Pines, the author’s setting of choice.

    >>Read More



top10-adult_business Top 10 Business Books: 2014
By Brad Hooper

“Business” touches us all, whether you are actively engaged in sales, marketing, investing, or starting a business. Just buying groceries involves you in business. The diversity of the business world is reflected in our choices for the best business books reviewed in Booklist between July 2013 and May 15, 2014.

Before Happiness . By Shawn Achor. 2013. Crown Business, $26 (9780770436735).

The concept here is fairly simple

voice-of-choice_2014_f1 Voice of Choice: Robin Miles
By Joyce Saricks

Robin Miles—actor, educator, director, and audiobook narrator par excellence—brings Yale Drama School training, an ear for authentic accents, melodic cadences, and a demonstrated commitment to connecting listeners to the heart of an author’s work. What more could we ask of Booklist’s Voice of Choice for 2014?

Miles appeared on the stage and on television for several years before she discovered audiobook narrating.

Doris Kearns Goodwin The Booklist Carnegie Medal Interview: Doris Kearns Goodwin
By Brad Hooper


Doris Kearns Goodwin is a Pulitzer Prize–winning historian, author of, among other distinguished works, Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln (2005), upon which much of Steven Spielberg’s recent movie Lincoln (2012) was based, and most recently The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism(2013). It was about this most recent of her vastly compelling books, recipient of the 2014 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction, that Booklist and Goodwin had a stimulating dialogue.
Donna Tartt The Booklist Carnegie Medal Interview: Donna Tartt
By Donna Seaman

As exquisitely literary a writer as she is a best-selling novelist, Donna Tartt grew up book-struck in Mississippi; acquired two literary guardians—Barry Hannah and Willie Morris—while at the University of Mississippi; then attended Bennington College in Vermont, along with writers Brett Easton Ellis and Jonathan Lethem. She was only 28 when her first novel, The Secret History (1992), was published to high acclaim and embraced by a fervent readership.


Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence Donna Tartt and Doris Kearns Goodwin Win Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction


Last night, at the American Library Association’s Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, Donna Tartt and Doris Kearns Goodwin were awarded the third annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. Tartt’s The Goldfinch received the medal for fiction, and Goodwin’sThe Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism received the nonfiction prize.

Blogs Like us on facebook Tweet
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications