Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

 September 1, 2015           BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Sports
Top 10 Sports Books
Top 10 Sports Books for    Youth
The Back Page: The Six    Greatest Sports Books    of All Time

Features
At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: Story People
He Reads: Kid Stuff
She Reads: Kid Stuff
Read-alikes: In a Galaxy    Not So Far Away
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth
Fall 2015 Youth Preview


WEB EXCLUSIVES

The Things They    Narrated: War on Audio
Great Reads: Stories    within Stories
AASL National Conference    Preview: Author!    Author!
Great Reads: Living with    Death
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Shortlist Announced for    the 2015 Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Reads: Picturing    Poetry
Dancing in the Dark:    Recent YA Ballet Books
Great Reads: These Novels    Are Graphic
Great Reads: Great BIG    Reads
Great Reads: A Dark    Harvest for Kansas Day
Great Reads: What Do You    Resolve to Read this    Year?

From BookLinks

September 2015

September 2015 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
The Girl in the Spider’s Web
By David Lagercrantz

In our 2008 review of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, which was published in the U.S. after Stieg Larsson’s death, we lamented the fact that there would be only three books in which to watch “the charismatic Lisbeth Salander take on the world.”

    >>Read More



he-reads_she-reads She Reads: Kid Stuff
By Kaite Mediatore Stover

An Old-Fashioned Liberated Girl

How many giggles and tears did ReaderGuy and ReaderGal emit while researching these columns? No doubt quite a few as we perused our memories and bookshelves for those books we read and loved as children. (A shout-out here for the Scholastic’s Weekly Reader book fairs, which provided me with most of the books I owned in my early years.)

talking-with_mattick-blackall Talking With: Lindsay Mattick and Sophie Blackall
By Sarah Hunter

Not many readers know that the inspiration for A. A. Milne’s Winnie-the-Pooh is just as enchanting a tale as anything that happened in the Hundred Acre Wood. Illustrated by Sophie Blackall’s warm, antique-style artwork, Lindsay Mattick’s debut, Finding Winnie, tells the heartening tale of the iconic Pooh’s real-life origin.

column_back-page The Back Page: The Six Greatest Sports Novels of All Time
By Bill Ott

Right off the bat, so to speak, let’s dispense with all that metaphor-for-life nonsense. Whenever your high-minded literary critics, who wouldn’t know a Texas Leaguer from a can of corn, find themselves liking a sports novel, they immediately panic. “This must be about something more than sports,” they think, “or I wouldn’t like it.”

hd-hotlist_f1.jpg High-Demand Hot List
By Brad Hooper

Look for reviews of these high-demand titles in forthcoming issues of Booklist.

Avenue of Mysteries.
By John Irving. Simon & Schuster, $28 (9781451664164), Nov.

When Juan Diego takes a trip to the Philippines, he recalls his younger days in Mexico, which had a profound impact on his life.

read-alikes_galaxy Read-alikes: In a Galaxy Not So Far Away
By Julia Smith

Once those Imperial clones invade your imagination (or those cuddly Ewoks take your heart), it’s hard to think about much else. Not to worry, young Jedi, a fleet of books there is; filled with space adventures, gadgets, and high-octane battles are there; and satisfy your Star Wars craving they will.

Avalon. By Mindee Arnett. 2014. HarperCollins/Balzer+Bray, $17.99 (9780062235596). Gr. 8–11.

top10-adult_sports Top 10 Sports Books: 2015
By Bill Ott

This year’s sports top 10 turns a blind eye on major sports, focusing instead on less-heralded athletic and recreational endeavors, from bowling to the circus to Monopoly. (Well, there is one basketball book, but it’s about a really bad team.) The titles selected were reviewed in Booklist from September 1, 2014, through August 2015.

top10-youth_sports Top 10 Sports Books for Youth: 2015
By Sarah Hunter

This year’s 10 best sports books, reviewed in Booklist from September 1, 2014, to August, 2015, will wheel, paddle, swim, jog, hip-check, and tackle headlong their way into first place on your shelves.

Biggie. By Derek E. Sullivan. 2015. Albert Whitman, $16.99 (9780807507278). Gr. 9–12.

Blogs
Blogs
| | | | | | | | |

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2015 Booklist Publications