Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
American Heiress
by Jeffrey Toobin
On February 4, 1974, two women and one man burst into the Berkeley, California, apartment that Patricia Hearst, heir to the fortune of newspaper magnate William Randolph Hearst, shared with her fiancé, Steven Weed. They clubbed Weed and dragged a thrashing, screaming, 19-year-old Hearst into the trunk of their car.
    >>Read More



top10-Middle-Grade_f1.jpgTop 10 Contemporary Middle-Grade Novels
by Daniel Kraus

Time to shine a light on the books unaided by laser-firing aliens, fantastic spy gadgets, or fire-breathing dragons. These modern-day, realistic novels were reviewed in Booklist from July 2015 through June 2016.
read-alikes_family_f1.jpgRead-Alikes: Family Resiliency and Humor
by Donna Seaman

Family novels abound. Some are sagas—panoramic, multigenerational novels that march through the decades, linking one family’s story to historic events. Others are intimate, domestic dramas that focus tightly on one family’s personal struggles. And then there are novels that closely trace the aftershocks of family secrets as children stumble their way into adulthood—nuanced, character-driven tales of keen wit, crisp social observations, and high psychological intelligence.

Core-Self-Referential_f1.jpgCore Collection: Self-Referential Picture Books
by Maggie Reagan

There are books about books, and then there are books about the actual book you’re reading right now. We take a look at this perennially popular theme.

top10-Business-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Business Books: 2016
by Rebecca Vnuck
In our ongoing effort to help librarians maintain a wide-ranging business collection, we offer below 10 outstanding titles reviewed in Booklist from July 2015 through June 2016 that are worthy of inclusion in any public library collection.


column_voices-in-my-head_f1.jpgVoices in My Head: We Need Diverse Audiobooks
by Mary Burkey

Listening to literature expands our horizons, connecting us to commonalities across cultures while honoring the differences that define our identities. Sharing multicultural audiobooks honors the mission of the We Need Diverse Books movement, committed to the ideal that embracing diversity will lead to acceptance, empathy—and, ultimately, equality.

column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: Hear! Hear!
by Michael Cart

Audiobooks aren’t exactly a new phenomenon. They date to the 1930s and the establishment of the Library of Congress’ program of recording for the blind. Nevertheless, most major publishers didn’t establish audio divisions until the mid-1980s.
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |