Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

       May 1, 2015          BOOKLIST

Mystery Showcase
The Year's Best Crime    Novels
A Hard-Boiled Gazetteer    to Other Worlds
The Back Page: How    Metzger's Dog Stole My    Vacation
The DOLLUS Syndrome:    Diversity in Crime    Fiction
Core Collection: Essential    Cozies on Audio and in    Print
Core Collection: Middle-    Grade Mysteries
At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: In Praise of    Cozy Mysteries
He Reads: True Crime
She Reads: True Crime
Top 10 Crime Fiction for    Youth
Top 10 Crime Fiction on    Audio

Features
High Demand Hot List
High Demand Hot List for    Youth


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Living with Death
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Shortlist Announced for    the 2015 Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Reads: Picturing    Poetry
Dancing in the Dark:    Recent YA Ballet Books
Great Reads: These Novels    Are Graphic
Great Reads: Great BIG    Reads
Great Reads: A Dark    Harvest for Kansas Day
Great Reads: What Do You    Resolve to Read this    Year?

From BookLinks

April 2015

April 2015 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Delicate Monsters
By Stephanie Kuehn

Award-winning Kuehn is firing on all cylinders with her latest taut psychological thriller. Booted from boarding school for nearly killing a classmate, 17-year-old Sadie Su returns home to her family’s Sonoma wine estate, where she was childhood friends with Emerson Tate, to finish out her education.

    >>Read More



2015-top10-crime-youth Top 10 Crime Fiction for Youth: 2015
By Sarah Hunter

From lost toys to murder, the mysteries in this year’s top 10 crime fiction for youth, reviewed in Booklist between May 1, 2014, and April 15, 2015, are no match for the deductive skills of these crackerjack sleuths.

As Red as Blood. By Salla Simukka. Tr. by Owen Witesman. 2014. Amazon/Skyscape, paper, $7.99 (9781477847718). Gr. 10–12.

years-best-crime_2015 The Year’s Best Crime Novels: 2015
By Bill Ott

If this year’s best crime novels tell us anything, it’s that mean streets can turn up anywhere—from posh Irish girls’ schools to remote Asian islands. There are cop and detective stories here (by John Harvey, Harry Brandt, James Ellroy, and Laura Lippman), but there are also psychological thrillers (Paula Hawkins) and all variety of genre- and subgenre-blenders, from crime meets horror (Lauren Beukes) to crime meets superheroes (Nick Harkaway) to espionage meets noir (Mick Herron) to procedural meets psychological thriller (Tana French).

column_at-leisure At Leisure with Joyce Saricks: In Praise of Cozy Mysteries
By Joyce Saricks

If anyone ever had doubts about how Booklist feels about crime novels, this issue and all previous crime spotlights provide convincing evidence that we love crime—well, the fictional kind at least. Readers’ advisors surely aren’t surprised, as crime fiction—mysteries, thrillers, suspense novels—are always popular. We find these books on the best-seller lists and buy multiple copies of titles in the ever-increasing number of series.

dollus-syndrome The DOLLUS Syndrome: Diversity in Crime Fiction
By Sara Paretsky

Some years ago, the Dodgers fired executive Al Campanis for explaining that there weren’t many African American Major League managers because they lacked “the necessities” for management. No one ever asked me, but I thought it was because black ballplayers suffer from the DOLLUS syndrome: They Don’t Look Like Us. As a corollary, at that time, black players had to outperform whites to get into the majors, and by and large, journeymen, not stars, become managers.

top10-e-reference Top 10 E-reference: 2015
By Rebecca Vnuk

Our first top 10 list of e-reference sources is made up of resources that were reviewed in Booklist between January 2013 and November 2014. Specialty sources and general reference databases are presented here, as are sources for students of all ages.

Britannica Library. Britannica [http://info.eb.com/products/britannica-public-library-edition/].

column_carte-blanche Carte Blanche: Only a Great Man
By Michael Cart

Oscar Wilde once said, “Anybody can make history, but only a great man can write it.” Only a great man, eh? Then, ladies and gentlemen, I give you the great Leon Garfield! The author of some 50 children’s and young adult books, almost all of them historical fiction, Garfield (1921–96) was a fine storyteller whose exuberant novels—inspired by Henry Fielding, Charles Dickens, and Robert Louis Stevenson—remind us of the unrivaled pleasures of reading.

top10-historical-fiction Top 10 Historical Fiction on Audio for Adults: 2015
By Joyce Saricks

These novels, reviewed between April 2013 and April 2015, span the genre’s range and include family sagas, social histories, and biographical historical fiction.

All the Light We Cannot See.By Anthony Doerr. Read by Zach Appleman. 2014. 16hr. Simon & Schuster Audio, CD, $39.99 (9781442375420); Recorded Books, lib. ed. CD, $39.99 (9781442375420).

read-alikes_ancient Read-alikes: Ancient Stories, Fresh Perspectives
By Sarah Hunter

Bible stories are such a deeply ingrained element of the fabric of contemporary culture that many readers likely take them for granted. These six novels examine familiar biblical stories and reinvigorate them with vivid characters and evocative historical atmospheres, all while simultaneously inviting readers to consider more carefully some of their deeply held ideas about faith.

Blogs
Blogs
| | | | | | | | |

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2015 Booklist Publications