Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

 September 1, 2015           BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Sports
Top 10 Sports Books
Top 10 Sports Books for    Youth
The Back Page: The Six    Greatest Sports Books    of All Time

Features
At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: Story People
He Reads: Kid Stuff
She Reads: Kid Stuff
Read-alikes: In a Galaxy    Not So Far Away
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth
Fall 2015 Youth Preview


WEB EXCLUSIVES

The Things They    Narrated: War on Audio
Great Reads: Stories within Stories
AASL National Conference    Preview: Author!    Author!
Great Reads: Living with    Death
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Shortlist Announced for    the 2015 Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Reads: Picturing    Poetry
Dancing in the Dark:    Recent YA Ballet Books
Great Reads: These Novels    Are Graphic
Great Reads: Great BIG    Reads
Great Reads: A Dark    Harvest for Kansas Day
Great Reads: What Do You    Resolve to Read this    Year?

From BookLinks

April 2015

April 2015 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Orbiting Jupiter
By Gary D. Schmidt

Masterful is the word to describe Schmidt’s latest, the deeply moving story of a 14-year-old boy who is an out-of-wedlock father with one desire: to see his baby daughter, though laws and rules and regulations militate against this.

    >>Read More



top10-youth_sports Top 10 Sports Books for Youth: 2015
By Sarah Hunter

This year’s 10 best sports books, reviewed in Booklist from September 1, 2014, to August, 2015, will wheel, paddle, swim, jog, hip-check, and tackle headlong their way into first place on your shelves.

Biggie. By Derek E. Sullivan. 2015. Albert Whitman, $16.99 (9780807507278). Gr. 9–12.

top10-adult_sports Top 10 Sports Books: 2015
By Bill Ott

This year’s sports top 10 turns a blind eye on major sports, focusing instead on less-heralded athletic and recreational endeavors, from bowling to the circus to Monopoly. (Well, there is one basketball book, but it’s about a really bad team.) The titles selected were reviewed in Booklist from September 1, 2014, through August 2015.

hd-hotlist_f1.jpg High-Demand Hot List
By Brad Hooper

Look for reviews of these high-demand titles in forthcoming issues of Booklist.

Avenue of Mysteries.
By John Irving. Simon & Schuster, $28 (9781451664164), Nov.

When Juan Diego takes a trip to the Philippines, he recalls his younger days in Mexico, which had a profound impact on his life.

hd-hotlist High-Demand Hot List for Youth
By Daniel Kraus

Look for reviews of these high-demand titles in forthcoming issues of Booklist.

Hollowgirl. By Sean Williams. HarperCollins/Balzer+Bray, $17.99 (9780062203274). Nov.

The Twinmaker series comes to a climax with Clair entering the digi-world of the Yard, where the presence of a second Clair threatens to upend everything. Politics, technology, and death mark the latest from number-one best-seller Williams, who has made the jump to YA quite successfully.

Celebrating Chase's Calendar of EventsCelebrating Chase’s Calendar of Events
By Rebecca Vnuk

Whether your library still has a classic reference desk or not, all librarians recognize that there are standard books to keep on hand for ready-reference, despite the perception that you can Google everything. Among them is Chase’s Calendar of Events, the most comprehensive reference available on special events, holidays, federal and state observances, historic anniversaries, and more.

Back-to-School-Feeling_f1.jpgThat Back-to-School Feeling: Picture Books for First Days
By Julia Smith

In the final weeks of summer vacation, back-to-school fever hits hard, and with it an onslaught of requests for school-themed picture books. Odds are that classics such as Audrey Penn’s The Kissing Hand (1993), Joseph Slate’s Miss Bindergarten Gets Ready for Kindergarten (1996), and Kevin Henkes’ Wemberly Worried (2000) have already been plucked from library displays. Luckily, there’s no shortage of new books to supplement collections and buck up youngsters, who may not be too keen at the prospect of starting school.

read-alikes_Lesbian-Modernists Read-alikes: Prominent Lesbian Modernists
By Donna Seaman

Romaine Brooks was part of an extraordinary circle of gifted and determined lesbian artists and writers who defined and stoked modernist aesthetics, from writer and collector Gertrude Stein, who championed Hemingway and Picasso, to the steadfast journalist Janet Flanner to Sylvia Beach, who owned the beloved Paris bookstore, Shakespeare and Company, and published James Joyce’s contentious Ulysses.

Blogs
Blogs
| | | | | | | | |

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2015 Booklist Publications