Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

   November 1, 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on the Arts
Top 10 Arts Books
Read-Alikes: Dig Your    Parents' Favorite Tunes
Top 10 Arts Books for    Youth
Listen-Alikes: Inside the    World of Arts and    Artists
Features
At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: Looking Back;    or, Why We Keep a List


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Musicians    Tell All
Great Reads: Horror    Directors Who Became    Authors
Great Reads: Great Group    Reads, 2014
Celebrate Banned Books    Week With Graphic    Novels
Great Reads: Sports    Without Balls
Great Reads: Stay Inside!
Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers
Politico Thrillers: 8    Washington Insiders    Who'd Rather Be Writing
Murder Castles and Urban    Infernos: 7 Historical    Mysteries Set in    Nineteenth-Century    Cities
Art Noir: 12 Graphic    Novels Where Crime Is    Shaded Gray

From BookLinks

November 2014

November 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Leontyne Price
By Carole Boston Weatherford

As the story of Leontyne Price opens, and as the text so affectingly puts it, a black girl born in 1927 Mississippi could expect nothing besides “a heap of hard work—as a maid, mill worker, or sharecropper. Her song would surely be the blues.”

    >>Read More



strange-journey-martian The Strange Journey of The Martian: An Indie Success Story
By Mary Burkey

The adage “Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity” describes both debut author Andy Weir and the hero of Weir’s The Martian, Mark Watney, a NASA astronaut presumed dead and left behind when the first Mars landing team must abort their mission. Weir combines dry wit with a disarming emotional depth that propels both readers and listeners through shifting perspectives.

column_back-page The Back Page: The Myth of the Bedside Table
By Bill Ott

A lot of people talk about all the books on their bedside tables waiting to be read. I don’t buy it. Bedside tables aren’t very big. Anyone who can pile all their to-be-read books on the narrow confines of a bedside table isn’t much of a reader. Obsessive readers need much more space. Take me. I couldn’t begin to fit the piles of books I’m planning to read—those to be reviewed and those I’m hoping someday to read for pleasure—into such a dainty space.

column_carte-blanche Carte Blanche: It Might Have Been
By Michael Cart

First novels. Where would literature be without them? Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe (1719) is generally regarded as being the first one in English, though some have argued the honor should go, instead, to Thomas Malory’s Le Morte d’Arthur (1485) or John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress(1678). The first novel for children is less ambiguous, generally thought to be Little Goody Two Shoes (1765). Its full title is worth noting, since it’s nearly as long as the book itself.

children-are-prey-sometimes Children Are Prey Sometimes: Why The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer Is a YA Classic
By Daniel Kraus

Twenty-four years ago, a quick print tie-in to the TV series Twin Peaks was published, and like the show itself, the book continues to haunt.

There are two synopses one could write for Jennifer Lynch’sThe Secret Diary of Laura Palmer. The first: it told the backstory of Laura Palmer, the troubled Homecoming queen whose murder kicked off the show Twin Peaks, and it offered clues to the soon-to-be-revealed murderer.

top10-first_novels_audio Top 10 First Novels on Audio for Youth and Adults
By Joyce Saricks

These debut adult and youth novels, reviewed from October 2013 through October 2014, stand out as memorable performances.

Better Nate than Ever. By Tim Federle. Read by the author. 2013. 6hr. Recorded Books, CD, $51.75 (9781470369385). Gr. 5–8.

Talented author Federle proves himself an equally skillful narrator, portraying Nate, a 13-year-old musical-theater fanatic, on his entertaining and amusing adventure in the Big Apple, where he auditions for a Broadway extravaganza.

top10-first_novels_youth_f1.jpgTop 10 First Novels for Youth: 2014
By Sarah Hunter

A magical-realist romance, a gutsy exploration of gender identity, a sci-fi thriller, and a dandy middle-grade fantasy adventure account for just a few of this year’s 10 best first novels, reviewed in Booklist from October 1, 2013, to September 15, 2014.

Althea & Oliver. By Cristina Moracho. 2014. Viking, $17.99 (9780670785391). Gr. 10–12.

Blogs
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BOOKLIST READER | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications