Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

  September 1, 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Sports
25 Years in Sports    Publishing
Top 10 Sports Books
Another Look At John R.    Tunis
Top 10 Sports Books For    Youth
Read-Alikes: Hazing—The    Game Nobody Wins
Top 10 Sports Audiobooks
Features
High-Demand Hot List
At Leisure With Joyce    Saricks: RA and the    Freedom to Read
Celebrate Banned Books    Week with Graphic    Novels
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth
Youth Preview: Fall 2014
The Back Page


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Sports    Without Balls
Great Reads: Stay Inside!
Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers
Politico Thrillers: 8    Washington Insiders    Who'd Rather Be Writing
Murder Castles and Urban    Infernos: 7 Historical    Mysteries Set in    Nineteenth-Century    Cities
Art Noir: 12 Graphic    Novels Where Crime Is    Shaded Gray
When Friends Let    Friends' Fists Do the    Talking

From BookLinks

April 2014

April 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Awards

Likely Stories
Book Group Buzz
Audiobooker
Bookends
Shelf Renewal

Review Of The Day
Pin Action
By Gianmarc Manzione

Mention bowling today and three things come to mind: family fun, coworker leagues, and a niche professional sport. So, a book about bowling? Zzzzzz, right? Nope. Manzione, editor of Bowler’s Journal, takes readers back in time to the rough-and-­tumble.

    >>Read More



youth-preview_fall Fall Youth Preview: 2014
By Maggie Reagan

This announcement section offers Booklist readers a preview of notable new titles for young adult, middle-Gr., and young readers. All titles will be published in the upcoming fall 2014 season.

Young Adult Nonfiction

Alice + Freda Forever: A Murder in Memphis.
By Alexis Coe. Illus. by Sally Klann. Oct 2014. 224p. Zest, $16.99 (9781936976607). Gr. 11–12.
reference-preview_fal Fall Reference Preview: 2014
By Rebecca Vnuk

Print reference works slated for publication between August 2014 and January 2015 are listed here. Page numbers and pub dates have been provided by the publishers and are subject to change. Many of these titles are also available as e-books; check with the publishers for further information.

Animals

The Book of Beetles: A Life-Size Guide to Six Hundred of Nature’s Gems. Ed. by Patrice Bouchard. Sept. 2014. 656p. Univ. of Chicago, $55 (9780226082752).

ya-or-na YA or NA?
By Michael Cart

Unless you’ve been living on the planet Xenon or under a rock, you surely know by now that the term “new adult” (NA) was coined in 2009 by the publisher St. Martin’s Press when it issued a call for “fiction similar to YA that can be published and marketed as adult—a sort of older YA or NA.”

What hath St. Martin’s call wrought in the years since? I decided to find out, querying a clutch of people in publishing to get their take on the situation.

cc_new-adult Core Collection: New Adult Fiction
By Gillian Engberg and Donna Seaman

New adult (NA) fiction—erotic, dramatic, and funny—crosses the adult and youth line. So we’ve joined adult and youth editorial forces to put together a new adult core collection that encompasses the three primary facets of the genre, which we’ve tagged: New Adult Romance, New Adult Fiction, and Young Adult for New Adult. You will find an enticing spectrum of novels that portray characters who are leaving home for the first time, or returning flat broke; navigating college, buckling down to jobs, or not; and, of course, weathering the storms of lust and love.

what-is-new-adult-fiction_f1.jpgWhat Is New Adult Fiction?
By Gillian Engberg, Donna Seaman and Rebecca Vnuk

New adult isn’t a new phenomenon. After all, human beings have always progressed from adolescence to adulthood. What’s new is that we’re seeing a surge of interest in promoting books to readers between the ages of 18 to 24, and the term “new adult” (NA) has emerged as the buzzword to define these titles. There are many similarities between today’s NA fiction titles and the novels that were marketed as chick lit at the turn of this century. So what exactly are we talking about when we discuss today’s NA books?

column_at-leisure At Leisure with Joyce Saricks: In Praise of Browsing
By Joyce Saricks

I’ve long been an advocate of browsing in the library. Well before I became a librarian, I learned from experience that even if I wasn’t sure what I wanted to read, I’d come upon something that captured my interest if I just spent some time in the stacks. Many readers are just like me; they don’t come to the library looking for a specific title. Or, if they do, they are often seduced into taking more when they come across something that strikes their fancy, either in the stacks or on a display.

Blogs Like us on facebook Tweet
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications