Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?


You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

 November 15, 2015           BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Religion & Spirituality
Top 10 Religion &    Spirituality Books
Top 10 Religion &    Spirituality Books for    Youth
Top 10 Inspirational    Fiction
Core Collection:    Challenging Religious    Fiction for Youth
Read-alikes: Meditative    Picture Books
Carte Blanche: Religion,    an Exercise in Nostalgia

Top 10 Gentle Reads on    Audio
He Reads: Cult Classics
She Reads: Cult Classics
The Back Page: Fifty    Shades of the Bible


Great Reads: National    Reading Group Month,    2015
The Things They    Narrated: War on Audio
Great Reads: Stories    within Stories
AASL National Conference    Preview: Author!    Author!
Great Reads: Living with    Death
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Shortlist Announced for    the 2015 Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Fiction and Nonfiction

From BookLinks

November 2015

November 2015 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day

School for Bandits
By Hannah Shaw

Mr. and Mrs. Raccoon aren’t happy with their son, Ralph, who is “disturbingly well behaved.” There’s only one thing to do: send him to bandit school! Once there, Ralph doesn’t fit in. He is sure that he has no chance of winning the Best Bandit in School contest—whoever fills his sack with the most loot wins.

    >>Read More

Story behind the Story: Nnedi Okorafor’s Akata Witch
By Gillian Engberg

The Changing Faces of Fantasy

Speculative fiction allows for infinitely diverse world building, but there is often a puzzling sameness about its human characters, an overwhelmingly Caucasian bunch. Nnedi Okorafor’s award-winning youth novels offer a refreshing contrast: wildly imagined adventures rooted deeply in Africa and parallel worlds.

Book Links June 2011 issue

In the latest issue of Book Links, we bring to a close our year-long celebration of the magazine’s twentieth anniversary with a look at the most groundbreaking books and authors of the past two decades. Authenticated Booklist Online subscribers can access all of the articles listed below, while the articles “Katniss, Harry, and Percy: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and the Lure of Fantasy Series” and “The Changing Art of Storytelling” are available to anyone visiting the site. —Ed.

Quick Tips: Groundbreaking Books of the Last 20 Years
By Gillian Engberg

In celebration of Book Links magazine’s twentieth anniversary, we’ve asked our regular contributors to name the most groundbreaking books published in the last two decades. Their choices have appeared throughout the past year in Book Links, and we’ve collected all of them here in one celebratory list. Taken together, they represent some of the most exciting directions in books for children and young adults over the past 20 years. —Ed.

The Adventures of Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey The Adventures of Captain Underpants, by Dav Pilkey

Action! Thrills! Underpants! The wildly popular saga begins with The Adventures of Captain Underpants (1997) and features George Beard and Harold Hutchins, two young smart alecks who pull pranks and create their very own hilarious superhero: Captain Underpants. Full of Flip-O-Rama comics and toilet humor, Pilkey’s series has mesmerized elementary-school students, including even the most-reluctant readers, around the world.—Ernie J. Cox

Hot Topics: Batter Up!
By Anastasia Suen

On sandlots across the nation, teams of all ages are playing baseball during these warm months. For young fans searching for summer-reading suggestions, offer the following recent baseball biographies, which reflect the diverse backgrounds of players throughout history. Batter up!

| | | | | | | | |

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association

Privacy Policy

© 2015 Booklist Publications