Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

     April 15, 2015          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Historical Fiction
Top 10 Historical Fiction
Top 10 Historical Fiction    for Youth
Top 10 Historical Fiction    on Audio for Adults
Another Look At: The    Historical Novels of    James A. Michener
Carte Blanche: Only a    Great Man
Read-alikes: Ancient    Stories, Fresh    Perspectives

Features
Top 10 E-reference
Spring E-reference    Update, 2015
Outgoing Mail: Beatrix    Potter


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Shortlist Announced for    the 2015 Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Reads: Picturing    Poetry
Dancing in the Dark:    Recent YA Ballet Books
Great Reads: These Novels    Are Graphic
Great Reads: Great BIG    Reads
Great Reads: A Dark    Harvest for Kansas Day
Great Reads: What Do You    Resolve to Read this    Year?

From BookLinks

April 2015

April 2015 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Our Souls at Night
By Kent Haruf

The latest novel by the highly regarded author of Plainsong(1999), Eventide (2004), and Benediction (2013) is also, sadly, his last novel; Haruf died in November 2014. It will occur to readers that even one more word added to this short and spare narrative would break Haruf’s perfect harmony of place.

    >>Read More



top10-historical-fiction Top 10 Historical Fiction on Audio for Adults: 2015
By Joyce Saricks

These novels, reviewed between April 2013 and April 2015, span the genre’s range and include family sagas, social histories, and biographical historical fiction.

All the Light We Cannot See.By Anthony Doerr. Read by Zach Appleman. 2014. 16hr. Simon & Schuster Audio, CD, $39.99 (9781442375420); Recorded Books, lib. ed. CD, $39.99 (9781442375420).

top10-e-reference Top 10 E-reference: 2015
By Rebecca Vnuk

Our first top 10 list of e-reference sources is made up of resources that were reviewed in Booklist between January 2013 and November 2014. Specialty sources and general reference databases are presented here, as are sources for students of all ages.

Britannica Library. Britannica [http://info.eb.com/products/britannica-public-library-edition/].

read-alikes_ancient Read-alikes: Ancient Stories, Fresh Perspectives
By Sarah Hunter

Bible stories are such a deeply ingrained element of the fabric of contemporary culture that many readers likely take them for granted. These six novels examine familiar biblical stories and reinvigorate them with vivid characters and evocative historical atmospheres, all while simultaneously inviting readers to consider more carefully some of their deeply held ideas about faith.

spring-ereference-update Spring E-reference Update, 2015: Databases and E-books
By Rebecca Vnuk

We asked publishers “What’s new?” and they responded with the following information about their new reference databases, e-books, and e-book platforms as well as significant updates and enhancements to existing products. Information is effective January 2015 through December 2015. Contact the publishers for information on trials and pricing details.

ABC-CLIO (800-368-6868; customerservice@abc-clio.com)

column_outgoing-mail Outgoing Mail: Beatrix Potter
By Molly McQuade

Dear Beatrix Potter,

How small is small? I’ll probably never know.

I ask partly because it’s hard to measure the paws you drew.

The paws slip footloose into a vegetable patch. They sashay almost invisibly along ground nondescript.

top10-historical-fiction-youth Top 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2015
By Ilene Cooper

This year’s top 10 historical fiction titles will transport young people from ancient times to 1960s America, with stops in different countries and centuries. All were reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2014, and April 1, 2015.

Black Dove, White Raven. By Elizabeth Wein. 2015. Disney/Hyperion, $17.99

(9781423183105). Gr. 8–11.

Blogs
Blogs
| | | | | | | | |

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2015 Booklist Publications