Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

  September 1, 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Sports
25 Years in Sports    Publishing
Top 10 Sports Books
Another Look At John R.    Tunis
Top 10 Sports Books For    Youth
Read-Alikes: Hazing—The    Game Nobody Wins
Top 10 Sports Audiobooks
Features
High-Demand Hot List
At Leisure With Joyce    Saricks: RA and the    Freedom to Read
Celebrate Banned Books    Week with Graphic    Novels
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth
Youth Preview: Fall 2014
The Back Page


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Sports    Without Balls
Great Reads: Stay Inside!
Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers
Politico Thrillers: 8    Washington Insiders    Who'd Rather Be Writing
Murder Castles and Urban    Infernos: 7 Historical    Mysteries Set in    Nineteenth-Century    Cities
Art Noir: 12 Graphic    Novels Where Crime Is    Shaded Gray
When Friends Let    Friends' Fists Do the    Talking

From BookLinks

September 2014

September 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Awards

Likely Stories
Book Group Buzz
Audiobooker
Bookends
Shelf Renewal

Review Of The Day
Fantasy League
By Mike Lupica

Usually a football book is about whether or not the kid makes the team—and the problems that follow. So it’s refreshing that those issues are only a part of 12-year-old Charlie Gains’ story. See, Charlie is known as the Brain, because he is a football stats genius.

    >>Read More



Top 10 Sports Books for Youth Top 10 Sports Books for Youth: 2014
By Daniel Kraus

Our list of the year’s best sports books—this one drawn from books reviewed in Booklist from September 15, 2013, to August 2014—is always wide-reaching. This one shows strong performances for both graphic novels and books about soccer. For the latter, we credit the World Cup.

All Star. By Jesse Lonergan. Illus. by the author. 2014. NBM/ComicsLit, paper, $13.99 (9781561638352). Gr. 9–12.


top10-adult_sports Top 10 Sports Books
By Bill Ott

Yes, the major sports are represented in this year’s top 10 but so, too, are poker, Ping-Pong, and fishing. Titles selected were reviewed from September 1, 2013, through August 2014.

All Fisherman are Liars. By John Gierach. 2014. Simon & Schuster, $24 (9781451618310).

youth-preview_fall Fall Youth Preview: 2014
By Maggie Reagan

This announcement section offers Booklist readers a preview of notable new titles for young adult, middle-Gr., and young readers. All titles will be published in the upcoming fall 2014 season.

Young Adult Nonfiction

Alice + Freda Forever: A Murder in Memphis.
By Alexis Coe. Illus. by Sally Klann. Oct 2014. 224p. Zest, $16.99 (9781936976607). Gr. 11–12.
reference-preview_fal Fall Reference Preview: 2014
By Rebecca Vnuk

Print reference works slated for publication between August 2014 and January 2015 are listed here. Page numbers and pub dates have been provided by the publishers and are subject to change. Many of these titles are also available as e-books; check with the publishers for further information.

Animals

The Book of Beetles: A Life-Size Guide to Six Hundred of Nature’s Gems. Ed. by Patrice Bouchard. Sept. 2014. 656p. Univ. of Chicago, $55 (9780226082752).

ya-or-na YA or NA?
By Michael Cart

Unless you’ve been living on the planet Xenon or under a rock, you surely know by now that the term “new adult” (NA) was coined in 2009 by the publisher St. Martin’s Press when it issued a call for “fiction similar to YA that can be published and marketed as adult—a sort of older YA or NA.”

What hath St. Martin’s call wrought in the years since? I decided to find out, querying a clutch of people in publishing to get their take on the situation.

cc_new-adult Core Collection: New Adult Fiction
By Gillian Engberg and Donna Seaman

New adult (NA) fiction—erotic, dramatic, and funny—crosses the adult and youth line. So we’ve joined adult and youth editorial forces to put together a new adult core collection that encompasses the three primary facets of the genre, which we’ve tagged: New Adult Romance, New Adult Fiction, and Young Adult for New Adult. You will find an enticing spectrum of novels that portray characters who are leaving home for the first time, or returning flat broke; navigating college, buckling down to jobs, or not; and, of course, weathering the storms of lust and love.

Blogs Like us on facebook Tweet
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications