Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?


You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

    October 1, 2015           BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Food
Top 10 Food Books
Read-alikes: Sous-chefs    in the Making
Spotlight on Series Nonfiction
Top 10 Science-Project    Series
Science Projects in Series    Nonfiction

At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: Psychological    Suspense, Horror's    Disturbing Sibling
Books by Booklist    Authors: Daniel Kraus'    The Death and Life of    Zebulon Finch, v. 1: At    the Edge of Empire
The Back Page: Food on    the Page
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth
High-Demand Hot List


Great Reads: National    Reading Group Month,    2015
The Things They    Narrated: War on Audio
Great Reads: Stories    within Stories
AASL National Conference    Preview: Author!    Author!
Great Reads: Living with    Death
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2015: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Shortlist Announced for    the 2015 Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Reads: Picturing    Poetry
Dancing in the Dark:    Recent YA Ballet Books
Great Reads: These Novels    Are Graphic
Great Reads: Great BIG    Reads
Great Reads: A Dark    Harvest for Kansas Day
Great Reads: What Do You    Resolve to Read this    Year?

From BookLinks

September 2015

September 2015 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Tasting Wine and Cheese
By Adam Centamore

This very focused and gorgeously illustrated book is a necessary purchase for all active public-library cooking collections. It will be enthusiastically circulated, and a noncirculating copy may be helpful to keep on the ready-reference shelf in the general reference department.

    >>Read More

column_at-leisure At Leisure with Joyce Saricks: Psychological Suspense, Horror’s Disturbing Sibling
By Joyce Saricks

We like horror novels here at Booklist, although I am a bit nervous with my office just down the hall from Daniel Kraus. (As usual, he’ll be blogging this month about watching 31 horror films in 31 days for The Booklist Reader. Keep an eye on that same site for other forays into our favorite October genre.)

top10-science-project Top 10 Science-Project Series
By Miriam Aronin

Perfect for science fairs, school assignments, or plain old fun, these fantastic nonfiction series are packed with projects and backed by the science kids need to know as they tackle the activities.

FUN-damental Experiments (Bearport)

K–Gr. 3. The books in this colorful, visually appealing series promote scientific thinking in young children by asking for predictions and observations.

column_back-page The Back Page: Food on the Page
By Bill Ott

I’m sad to report that readers’ advisors across the land—in their never-ending search to determine if a book’s appeal stems from pacing, characters, language, or tone—seem to have forgotten one very important factor: taste. Sure, the reader who is searching for dinner can always pick up a cookbook, but what about that other reader, the one who isn’t looking for a meal but who likes his or her fiction or narrative nonfiction to include the occasional mouthwatering description of food or a memorable rumination on matters gastronomic?

read-alikes_Sous-chefs Read-alikes: Sous-chefs in the Making
By Sarah Hunter

Cooking is a fantastic way for kids to explore other cultures and learn practical skills to foster independence—but it’s also a great way for them to pitch in around the house. Before you turn your teens and tweens loose on the kitchen, however, make sure they have the basics down. These six titles provide tips for handy techniques, guidelines for understanding recipes, and some simple, healthful dishes to try. Now, if they could only manage to wash the dishes . . .

top10-food Top 10 Food Books: 2015
By Brad Hooper

Books about food aren’t limited to traditional cookbooks, as shown by this splendid array of books about food, reviewed in Booklist from October 1, 2014, to September 15, 2015.

America—Farm to Table: Simple, Delicious Recipes Celebrating Local Farmers. By Mario Batali and Jim Webster. 2014. Grand Central, $35 (9781455584680).

top10-road-trips Top 10 Road Trips on Audio
By Pam Spencer Holley and Joyce Saricks

Road trips offer the perfect opportunity to listen to audiobooks, but why stop there? How about audios about road trips of various kinds? A perfect blending of art and life.

Away. By Amy Bloom. Read by Barbara Rosenblat. 2007. 9.5hr. HighBridge, CD, $34.95 (9781598875218).

another-look-at_Twilight Another Look at: Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight
By Daniel Kraus

There are few in the book world—including publishers, editors, authors, reviewers, and readers—who haven’t disparaged Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight at some point in the 10 years since it debuted, myself included. Let’s run through the charges. It swallowed the sun that might have shone upon more deserving books. It spawned lousy imitators we’re still scraping from our veins like bad cholesterol. Adults’ obsession with it typified the slump of American intellectualism.

core-small-town Core Collection: Small-Town Romance
By John Charles

For the last decade, contemporary romance novels set in small towns such as Black Dog Bay, the location for Beth Kendrick’s Put a Ring On It, have been a hit with readers, who love being able to visit a place where everyone seems to know and care about each other. This close-knit communal feeling is one of the major appeal factors of small-town romance series.

| | | | | | | | |

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association

Privacy Policy

© 2015 Booklist Publications