Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

         August 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on New Adult    Fiction
What is New Adult Fiction?
Core Collection: New    Adult Fiction
YA or NA?
Features
In Defense of Fiction
High-Demand Hot List
Reference Preview: Fall    2014
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth
Carte Blanche: Against    Graham


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers
Politico Thrillers: 8    Washington Insiders    Who'd Rather Be Writing
Murder Castles and Urban    Infernos: 7 Historical    Mysteries Set in    Nineteenth-Century    Cities
Art Noir: 12 Graphic    Novels Where Crime Is    Shaded Gray
When Friends Let    Friends' Fists Do the    Talking

From BookLinks

April 2014

April 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Awards

Likely Stories
Book Group Buzz
Audiobooker
Bookends
Shelf Renewal

Review Of The Day

Windigo Island
By Willian Kent Krueger

Krueger’s latest in the Cork O’Connor series set around Lake Superior and northern Minnesota is a punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction, centering on the plight of American Indian women and girls.

    >>Read More



column_at-leisure At Leisure with Joyce Saricks: In Praise of Browsing
By Joyce Saricks

I’ve long been an advocate of browsing in the library. Well before I became a librarian, I learned from experience that even if I wasn’t sure what I wanted to read, I’d come upon something that captured my interest if I just spent some time in the stacks. Many readers are just like me; they don’t come to the library looking for a specific title. Or, if they do, they are often seduced into taking more when they come across something that strikes their fancy, either in the stacks or on a display.

read-alikes_life-after Read-alikes: Life after the Apocalypse
By Donna Seaman

Six years ago, Booklist took stock of postapocalyptic fiction in a core collection, “Before and After The Road,” by Keir Graff. As this particular strain of speculative novel appears to show no sign of slackening, we take, admittedly, rather morbid pleasure in presenting a more recent selection of postoil, postgrid, post–financial collapse, postpandemic tales by exceptional writers.

A History of the Future . By James Howard Hunstler. 2014. Atlantic Monthly, $24 (9780802122520).

cc_ramona_ Core Collection: Ramona Quimby’s Cousins
By Sarah Hunter

There’s a reason Beverly Cleary’s well-loved middle-grade series about Ramona Quimby is still in print nearly five decades after its debut: Ramona’s hopeful, grouchy, persistent, spunky, and befuddled elementary-age personality is instantly recognizable and relatable. Cleary masterfully combined realistic situations, such as Ramona’s parents’ arguments or concerns about money, with Ramona’s innocent misunderstandings, foot-stomping impatience, and wide-eyed earnestness. The result is a funny and engaging series.

hit-men-tell-tales Hit Men Tell Tales
By Joyce Saricks

Business as a subject probably suggests nonfiction to most readers (and listeners). But not to all of us. Sometimes the business of business, and certainly of career paths, is more interestingly explored in fiction, as I realized when I listened to Shane Kuhn’s The Intern’s Handbook and started thinking about all the crime fiction told from the assassin’s point of view. I’ve no plans to change careers yet, but if I wanted to, there are plenty of fictional guidebooks available on how to kill for a living.

top10-adult_business Top 10 Business Books: 2014
By Brad Hooper

“Business” touches us all, whether you are actively engaged in sales, marketing, investing, or starting a business. Just buying groceries involves you in business. The diversity of the business world is reflected in our choices for the best business books reviewed in Booklist between July 2013 and May 15, 2014.

Before Happiness . By Shawn Achor. 2013. Crown Business, $26 (9780770436735).

The concept here is fairly simple

voice-of-choice_2014_f1 Voice of Choice: Robin Miles
By Joyce Saricks

Robin Miles—actor, educator, director, and audiobook narrator par excellence—brings Yale Drama School training, an ear for authentic accents, melodic cadences, and a demonstrated commitment to connecting listeners to the heart of an author’s work. What more could we ask of Booklist’s Voice of Choice for 2014?

Miles appeared on the stage and on television for several years before she discovered audiobook narrating.

Blogs Like us on facebook Tweet
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications