Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

  November 15, 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Religion & Spirituality
Spiritual India
Top 10 Religion &    Spirituality Books: 2014
Top 10 Religion &    Spirituality Books for    Youth: 2014
Carte Blanche: Religion    and Young Readers
Read-alikes: Prayers for    the Youngest
Top 10 Religion    Reference Sources


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Musicians    Tell All
Great Reads: Horror    Directors Who Became    Authors
Great Reads: Great Group    Reads, 2014
Celebrate Banned Books    Week With Graphic    Novels
Great Reads: Sports    Without Balls
Great Reads: Stay Inside!
Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers

From BookLinks

November 2014

November 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher
By Hilary Mantel

In the U.S., we have come to accept—no, love—Mantel as a historical novelist, the author of such high points in the genre as her pair of Booker Prize winners, Wolf Hall (2009) and Bring Up the Bodies (2012), the first two installments of what is to be a trilogy about Henry VIII’s chief secretary, Thomas Cromwell.

    >>Read More



top10-religion-reference Top 10 Religion Reference Sources: 2014
By Rebecca Vnuk

Our first top 10 made up of religion reference titles encompasses subjects ranging from peace and the Buddha to the violence that often erupts from religious controversies. The titles selected were reviewed in Booklist between November 2012 and November 2014.

The Columbia Sourcebook of Mormons in the United States. Ed. by Terryl L. Givens and Reid L. Neilson. 2014. Columbia Univ., $80 (9780231149426).

top10-religion_youth Top 10 Religion and Spirituality Books for Youth: 2014
By Ilene Cooper

This year’s crop of standouts covers a wide range of books that deal with both the lighter and darker sides of religion and spirituality. They were reviewed in Booklist between November 15, 2013, and November 1, 2014.

Deep in the Sahara. By Kelly Cunnane. Illus. by Hoda Hadadi. 2013. Random/Schwartz & Wade, $17.99 (9780375870347). K–Gr. 3.

top10-religion Top 10 Religion and Spirituality Books: 2014
By Ilene Cooper

A wide range of religious thought appears in this top 10 list, which features books reviewed between November 15, 2013, and November 1, 2014.

American Crucifixion: The Murder of Joseph Smith and the Fate of the Mormon Church. By Alex Beam. 2014. PublicAffairs, $26.99 (9781610393133).

A captivating look at Smith’s rise and fall and at the colorful cast who contributed to the internal politics that led to Smith’s death, driving the Mormons forward to their destiny.

great-reads Great Reads: Musicians Tell All
By Donna Seaman

Musicians’ memoirs are irresistible. Most musicians heed the call early in life, and those who have achieved memoir-worthy fame have experienced many highs and lows, the basic ingredients for a great read. Music is a collaborative art, and musicians’ relationships tend to be volatile as they cope with mysteries of creativity and the pressure to succeed commercially. Extended tours erode love and domesticity while placing extreme demands on friendship and engendering wild and self-destructive behavior.

column_at-leisure At Leisure with Joyce Saricks: Looking Back; or, Why We Keep a List
By Joyce Saricks

Twenty-five years ago, Nancy Brown and I published Readers’ Advisory Service in the Public Library (ALA Editions), and I’ve revised it twice since then, in 1997 and 2005. Looking back, it’s satisfying to see that we achieved the goal we set for ourselves: to create a template for librarians to follow in learning to do readers’ advisory and in setting up a department. Much has changed in the world of libraries, even since 2005.

Blogs
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BOOKLIST READER | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications