Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

The Undoing Project
by Michael Lewis

Early on in bestselling Lewis’ latest inquiry, he appears to have hatched a hybrid of sorts: a biography of two gifted Israeli psychologists fused with a primer on the field of cognitive and mathematical psychology. But with each page, the book reveals itself as a radiant if cerebral romance about two brilliant minds, novel ideas, truth, country, and duty.
    >>Read More



top-10-science-health-youth-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science and Health Books for Youth: 2016
by Julia Smith

The best recent books on science, technology, and health encompass a wonderful range of subjects, from nautical codes and seed smuggling to reproductive rights and the now-extinct great auk. All books were reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016.

read-alikes_wake-of-pearl-harbor_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Pearl Harbor Fallout
by Donna Seaman

Novelists and nonfiction writers alike have been catalyzed by the injustices endemic to the incarceration of Japanese Americans and others in the aftermath of Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. The books recommended below offer affecting factual and imaginative inquiries into the complex truths and consequences associated with this deplorable chapter in wartime history.

top-10-health-medicine-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Health and Medicine: 2016
by Donna Seaman

The most involving, informative, and affecting health and medicine books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, assess the efficacy of medications and the impact of sugar, and look within to our genes and microbiome and without to how society and medical institutions treat people in need and with mental illness.

top-10-science-books-adult-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science: 2016
by Rebecca Vnuk

This year’s list of the most notable science books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, leans heavily toward the interesting personalities found across scientific fields.

manga-digest_f1.jpgManga Digest
by Eva Volin

Answering the call of libraries complaining that manga series are too many volumes long, manga publishers have responded by compressing multiple volumes into individual omnibus edition installments, collecting two or three entries into one big book. The following manga series are currently being reprinted in omnibus or collectors’ editions, perfect for libraries hoping to save on both expenses and shelf space.

core-islam_f1.jpgCore Collection: Islam
by Ilene Cooper

This core collection of books about Islam spans the ages. It offers titles about Islam’s history, tenets, and treasures. It also delves into the place of Islam in the modern world and the personal experiences of those who practice the faith.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |