Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Just a Girl
by Carrie Mesrobian

Rianne’s spent her whole life in Wereford, a small, nothing town in the Midwest, living with her divorced mom, getting up to mild trouble with her friends, casually sleeping around, and not trying terribly hard in school. By the time senior year rolls around, she still doesn’t have any plans for her future, and she finds herself in a relationship with notorious playboy Luke Pinsky, who’s kind of loyal and sweet, if oblivious to her needs.

    >>Read More



Trend-Rare-Diseases_f1.jpgTrend Alert: Rare Diseases, Disorders, and Conditions in YA Fiction
by Daniel Kraus

Disease striking the tragically young has been an iron mainstay since the advent of YA fiction—in a lot of those early “problem novels,” the problem in question was the suffering of the protagonists’ best friends (or boyfriends, or siblings, etc.), if not the poor protags themselves.

top-10-science-health-youth-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science and Health Books for Youth: 2016
by Julia Smith

The best recent books on science, technology, and health encompass a wonderful range of subjects, from nautical codes and seed smuggling to reproductive rights and the now-extinct great auk. All books were reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016.

read-alikes_wake-of-pearl-harbor_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Pearl Harbor Fallout
by Donna Seaman

Novelists and nonfiction writers alike have been catalyzed by the injustices endemic to the incarceration of Japanese Americans and others in the aftermath of Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. The books recommended below offer affecting factual and imaginative inquiries into the complex truths and consequences associated with this deplorable chapter in wartime history.

top-10-health-medicine-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Health and Medicine: 2016
by Donna Seaman

The most involving, informative, and affecting health and medicine books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, assess the efficacy of medications and the impact of sugar, and look within to our genes and microbiome and without to how society and medical institutions treat people in need and with mental illness.

top-10-science-books-adult-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science: 2016
by Rebecca Vnuk

This year’s list of the most notable science books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, leans heavily toward the interesting personalities found across scientific fields.

manga-digest_f1.jpgManga Digest
by Eva Volin

Answering the call of libraries complaining that manga series are too many volumes long, manga publishers have responded by compressing multiple volumes into individual omnibus edition installments, collecting two or three entries into one big book. The following manga series are currently being reprinted in omnibus or collectors’ editions, perfect for libraries hoping to save on both expenses and shelf space.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |