Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane
by Lisa See

In a remote mountain village, the survival of an Akha tribe, one of China’s 55 ethnic minorities, depends on tea. Rigid traditions prohibit Li-yan from keeping her newborn. She saves her daughter by leaving her in a nearby town, wrapped in blankets with a tea cake that hints at her distinctive heritage. Over the course of decades, See (China Dolls, 2014) reveals Li-yan’s exceptional story of departure and eventual return.

    >>Read More



core-Picture-Book-scientists_f1.jpgCore Collection: Picture-Book Biographies of Scientists
by Sarah Hunter

Inspirational lives are a mainstay of picture-book biographies. But when it comes to those who worked in STEM fields, the concepts can be big enough that it’s difficult to articulate why a luminary’s work is significant in terms little ones can understand.

core-Women-of-STEM_f1.jpgCore Collection: Women in STEM
by Donna Seaman

The STEM fields—science, technology, engineering, and mathematics—impact every aspect of our increasingly digitized lives in this time of environmental challenges, making education in the STEM realm highly desirable. And it is imperative that women participate. The books below tell the compelling stories of women pioneers in these ever-evolving fields, offering fresh perspectives on the history of science as well as forward-looking inspiration and guidance.

Trend-Rare-Diseases_f1.jpgTrend Alert: Rare Diseases, Disorders, and Conditions in YA Fiction
by Daniel Kraus

Disease striking the tragically young has been an iron mainstay since the advent of YA fiction—in a lot of those early “problem novels,” the problem in question was the suffering of the protagonists’ best friends (or boyfriends, or siblings, etc.), if not the poor protags themselves.

top-10-science-health-youth-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science and Health Books for Youth: 2016
by Julia Smith

The best recent books on science, technology, and health encompass a wonderful range of subjects, from nautical codes and seed smuggling to reproductive rights and the now-extinct great auk. All books were reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016.

read-alikes_wake-of-pearl-harbor_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Pearl Harbor Fallout
by Donna Seaman

Novelists and nonfiction writers alike have been catalyzed by the injustices endemic to the incarceration of Japanese Americans and others in the aftermath of Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. The books recommended below offer affecting factual and imaginative inquiries into the complex truths and consequences associated with this deplorable chapter in wartime history.

top-10-health-medicine-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Health and Medicine: 2016
by Donna Seaman

The most involving, informative, and affecting health and medicine books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, assess the efficacy of medications and the impact of sugar, and look within to our genes and microbiome and without to how society and medical institutions treat people in need and with mental illness.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |