Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl
by Shannon Hale and Dean Hale

The popular but perhaps lesser-known Squirrel Girl comics leap into the realm of the novel thanks to the considerable talent of wife-and-husband team Shannon and Dean Hale. Doreen Green, a peppy 14-year-old with a gorgeous tail (tactfully concealed) and secret squirrel powers, is doing her best to make friends—both human and squirrel—in her new New Jersey town, but it isn’t easy.

    >>Read More



top-10-health-medicine-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Health and Medicine: 2016
by Donna Seaman

The most involving, informative, and affecting health and medicine books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, assess the efficacy of medications and the impact of sugar, and look within to our genes and microbiome and without to how society and medical institutions treat people in need and with mental illness.

top-10-science-books-adult-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science: 2016
by Rebecca Vnuk

This year’s list of the most notable science books reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016, leans heavily toward the interesting personalities found across scientific fields.

manga-digest_f1.jpgManga Digest
by Eva Volin

Answering the call of libraries complaining that manga series are too many volumes long, manga publishers have responded by compressing multiple volumes into individual omnibus edition installments, collecting two or three entries into one big book. The following manga series are currently being reprinted in omnibus or collectors’ editions, perfect for libraries hoping to save on both expenses and shelf space.

read-alikes_wake-of-pearl-harbor_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Pearl Harbor Fallout
by Donna Seaman

Novelists and nonfiction writers alike have been catalyzed by the injustices endemic to the incarceration of Japanese Americans and others in the aftermath of Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. The books recommended below offer affecting factual and imaginative inquiries into the complex truths and consequences associated with this deplorable chapter in wartime history.

core-islam_f1.jpgCore Collection: Islam
by Ilene Cooper

This core collection of books about Islam spans the ages. It offers titles about Islam’s history, tenets, and treasures. It also delves into the place of Islam in the modern world and the personal experiences of those who practice the faith.

top-10-Inspirational-Fiction-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Inspirational Fiction: 2016
by Donna Seaman

The best inspirational fiction reviewed in Booklist between November 15, 2015, and November 1, 2016, displays a vibrant variety of settings and situations in which characters find their faith severely tested.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |