Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
The Burning World
by Isaac Marion

Marion’s Warm Bodies (2011) was a refreshingly unique zombie novel. It told the love story of R, a recovering zombie, and Julie, a human girl. The book’s popularity led to a movie and a clamoring for a sequel, but it was clear that in order to continue R and Julie’s story, Marion would have to deepen the world building and ­characters—so, instead, he wrote a prequel, The New Hunger (2013). Now, Marion has finally returned with that much-desired sequel.

    >>Read More



column_every-book_f1.jpgEvery Book Its Reader: After the Renaissance
by Neil Hollands

The period from the late 1980s forward is often called a renaissance for readers’ advisory. During those years, we finally put the library fiction question to rest, embracing popular materials and the benefits of helping library users find the next story.

core-Picture-Book-scientists_f1.jpgCore Collection: Picture-Book Biographies of Scientists
by Sarah Hunter

Inspirational lives are a mainstay of picture-book biographies. But when it comes to those who worked in STEM fields, the concepts can be big enough that it’s difficult to articulate why a luminary’s work is significant in terms little ones can understand.

core-Women-of-STEM_f1.jpgCore Collection: Women in STEM
by Donna Seaman

The STEM fields—science, technology, engineering, and mathematics—impact every aspect of our increasingly digitized lives in this time of environmental challenges, making education in the STEM realm highly desirable. And it is imperative that women participate. The books below tell the compelling stories of women pioneers in these ever-evolving fields, offering fresh perspectives on the history of science as well as forward-looking inspiration and guidance.

Trend-Rare-Diseases_f1.jpgTrend Alert: Rare Diseases, Disorders, and Conditions in YA Fiction
by Daniel Kraus

Disease striking the tragically young has been an iron mainstay since the advent of YA fiction—in a lot of those early “problem novels,” the problem in question was the suffering of the protagonists’ best friends (or boyfriends, or siblings, etc.), if not the poor protags themselves.

top-10-science-health-youth-2016_f1.jpgTop 10 Science and Health Books for Youth: 2016
by Julia Smith

The best recent books on science, technology, and health encompass a wonderful range of subjects, from nautical codes and seed smuggling to reproductive rights and the now-extinct great auk. All books were reviewed in Booklist between December 1, 2015, and November 15, 2016.

read-alikes_wake-of-pearl-harbor_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Pearl Harbor Fallout
by Donna Seaman

Novelists and nonfiction writers alike have been catalyzed by the injustices endemic to the incarceration of Japanese Americans and others in the aftermath of Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. The books recommended below offer affecting factual and imaginative inquiries into the complex truths and consequences associated with this deplorable chapter in wartime history.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |