Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 200,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

Everything Must Go
by Kevin Coval

​Coval (A People’s History of Chicago, 2017) rhapsodizes about his hometown of Chicago in this latest poetry collection. Accompanied by Langston Allston’s illustrations, this series of profiles, vignettes, and discursive rants present a time capsule of late-1990s Chicago, when Coval returned to his family’s old neighborhood in Wicker Park to settle and make a life of his own.

    >>Read More



Fall Youth Preview: 2019
by Taylor Crossley

​This announcement section offers Booklist readers a selected preview of especially notable new titles for young-adult, middle-grade, and young readers. All titles will be published in the fall 2019 season.

Booklist Backlist: What Nerve! Writers Retell Classics with nary an Austen nor Brontë in Sight
by Donna Seaman

The indelible, timeless, and irresistible tales we deem classic remain vital and intriguing, prompting writers to recast them in contemporary settings to explore the eternal question of what holds steady and what radically changes. With Salman Rushdie’s Quichotte, a variation on Don Quixote, and Jeanette Winterson’s Frankenstein homage, Frankissstein, on the Man Booker Prize longlist, we were inspired to take a highly selective look at previous variations on myths, epic poems, and novels, eschewing the many Jane Austen and Emily and Charlotte Brontë spinoffs.

Focus on e-Resources: Lerner Sports Database
by Julia Smith

Lerner’s new sports database (LernerSports.com) scores some serious points when it comes to its sleek, user-friendly design and accessibility. Dedicated to profiles of noteworthy athletes and aimed at students in grades 2–5, it organizes clearly its high-interest content by sport, with large icons indicating five categories: Baseball, Football, Soccer, Basketball, and More Sports, this last a catchall for gymnastics, swimming, boxing, tennis, golf, horseback riding, etc.

Listen Up: Listen While You Work Out
by Heather Booth, Terry Hong, & Shellie Ziegler

Audiobooks hold a distinct place in the sports and fitness book realm—they’re the only ones you can read while exercising. The authors of “Holding The Hunger Games Hostage at the Gym” (Management Science, 2014) cite research proving that listening to audiobooks can actually build motivation to exercise. Two Booklist reviewers concur.

Read-alikes: Bad News Bears (without Balls)
by Bill Ott

​Here we spin off from the review of Richard Askwith’s Unbreakable: The Woman Who Defied the Nazis in the World’s Most Dangerous Horse Race to showcase a few Bad News Bears sagas in which balls don’t play a role. Yes, we’ve allowed a hockey puck to join the party, but, strictly speaking, pucks aren’t balls. 

Top 10 Sports Books for Youth: 2019
by Ronny Khuri

​Basketball is the big winner in this year’s top 10 sports books for youth (all reviewed in Booklist between September 1, 2018, and August 2019), making up 40 percent of the field. The rest, however, are a wonderfully eclectic bunch, representing such sports as tennis, track, cricket, and even rodeo.

Shelf Care
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |