Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

The Monk of Mokha
​by Dave Eggers, Read by Dion Graham

Eggers’ unaffected yet cinematic style of storytelling is an ideal match for audio, and narrator Graham doesn’t disappoint. This is the account of Mokhtar, the American-born son of Yemeni immigrants. In his early twenties, Mokhtar realizes a passion for coffee and his homeland. He dedicates himself to bringing Yemen-farmed coffee to the world and improving the economic and working conditions of Yemeni coffee-bean farmers.

    >>Read More



voice-of-choice_2018_f1.jpgVoice of Choice: Tavia Gilbert
by Joyce Saricks

Tavia Gilbert is one of those exceptional narrators who reads across genres—youth and adult, fiction and nonfiction—and her exquisite performances make us want to listen to everything she reads, whether we are initially interested in the topic or not.

read-alikes_2018-printz_f1.jpgRead-alikes: The 2018 Printz Winners
by Maggie Reagan

This month, the Michael L. Printz Awards, administered by ALA’s Young Adult Library Services for Youth (YALSA) division and sponsored by Booklist, will hand out its top prize to Nina LaCour’s We Are Okay while awarding Honor Book status to Angie Thomas’ The Hate U Give, Jason Reynolds’ Long Way Down, Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, and Deborah Heiligman’s Vincent and Theo. More teen readers will be finding these five outstanding novels; here’s how to extend their reading with similar titles.

Top-10_Biographies-audio-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Biographies on Audio: 2018
by Joyce Saricks

Biographies and memoirs, reviewed in Booklist between February 15, 2017, and May 15, 2018, introduce listeners to intriguing contemporary and historical personalities.

Top-10_Biographies-youth-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Biographies for Youth: 2018
by Julia Smith

Artists and architects mingle with activists, soldiers, and even a herpetologist in this selection of outstanding biographies, reviewed in Booklist between February 15, 2017, and May 15, 2018.

Top-10_Biographies-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Biographies: 2018
by Donna Seaman

Portraits of a key Harlem Renaissance thinker, the magazine editor who took rock ’n’ roll seriously, a food visionary, the brothers who brought us cornflakes, and two Russian leaders are among the standout biographies reviewed in Booklist since the June 2017 issue.

column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: How Does Your Garden Grow?
by Michael Cart

I’m a Pisces. That means I should love gardening. Wrong! Uncle Michael’s idea of a good time is not falling to his knees to grub around in the dirt, uncovering worms and other vermin that creep, crawl, and slither. And don’t get me started on compost.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |