Mobile Menu Mobile Search

More than 200,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Advanced Search

November 15, 2019


November 2019

November 2019 Issue

Review of the Day

One Long River of Song
by Brian Doyle

The late Doyle called the contents of this generous, posthumous collection essays although they have the rhythm of poems and the lyricism of songs. Indeed, some of the pieces are what Doyle called proems, hybrids of prose and poetry.

    >>Read More



REVIEWS IN THIS ISSUE

Current Features

Top 10 Religion & Spirituality Books: 2019
by Ilene Cooper

These 10 titles, reviewed in Booklist between November 15, 2018, and November 1, 2019, show the breadth and depth of current religious writing. 

Booklist Backlist: Books That Have Made Me Laugh out Loud
by Julia Smith

Who doesn’t love a good laugh? While I’ve read plenty of funny books that have made me smile, it’s less common for them to make me burst out laughing. Those that have, I remember fondly and am tickled to share with you now.

Lightning Round: 2019 Debut Authors
by Sarah Hunter

This year was a particularly strong one for debuts, and with so many new authors to choose from, we thought we’d give you a chance to get to know a few a little better. In this series of speedy Q&As, nine 2019 debut authors reveal their favorite writing utensils, coolest place they worked on their book, and more.

Now Hear This: Priya Ayyar
​by Terry Hong

​“Bringing these diverse books to life” is why Priya Ayyar does what she does. She narrates the books she didn’t have when she was growing up—books that resonate with her experiences as a California-born Indian American.

Read-alikes: Museum as Muse
by Donna Seaman

Fiction writers are inspired by how museums collect, preserve, and honor life in tangible ways, generating both contemplative and provocative atmospheres as the past and present collide.

Top 10 First Novels on Audio: 2019
by Heather Booth

Full casts, richly evoked settings, and compelling character work are highlights of these audiobooks of debut novels, all of which received starred reviews between November 1, 2018 and October 15, 2019.

The Booklist Reader

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |