Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

My Year of Rest and Relaxation
by Ottessa Moshfegh, Read by, Julia Whelan

​The premise of this critical darling is a bit of a hard sell: a beautiful young woman has the resources to prepay her New York expenses while she self-medicates into sleeping through the year. Award-winning audiobook narrator Whelan handles the beautifully written ennui, snark, and desperate need for escape of the unnamed protagonist with aplomb.

    >>Read More



Now Hear This: Julia Whelan
by Joyce Saricks

​Julia Whelan’s narration guarantees spot-on pacing, expressive readings that intensify the drama, and a melodic voice that conveys emotions and tone. Whether narrating titles for youth or adults, she conjures characters that reflect the author’s vision and imbue her reading with sensitivity and empathy.

Top 10 Arts Books for Youth: 2018
by Sarah Hunter

Memoirs, biographies, graphic novels, a handful of fiction, and lots and lots of beautiful artwork (of course) make up the spectacular titles in this year’s top 10 arts books, reviewed in Booklist from October 15, 2017, to October 1, 2018.

Top 10 Arts Books: 2018
by Donna Seaman

A genius for all time, trailblazing women painters and a photographer, the artist behind Twin Peaks, an immigrant actor,​ the chronicler of on-the-street New York fashion, and intrepid music critics in action all make for an invigorating “best” arts list selected from Booklist’s October 15, 2017, to October 1, 2018, issues. 

Read-alikes: Fathers, Fame, and Rock ’n’ Roll
by Donna Seaman

Tom Barbash’s novel The Dakota Winters riffs on a set of potent themes: the privileges and dangers of fame, the anxiety of a longed-for comeback, the sticky relationships between a famous father and adult offspring seeking connection and liberty, a fabled New York address, rock ’n’ roll legends and realities, and a city inflamed by creativity and crime. Each of the novels below offers an imaginative and provocative take on one or more of these fertile subjects.

Civics in Series Nonfiction
​by Angela Leeper

​No matter one’s political slant, everyone can agree that understanding how the U.S. government runs is important. But it’s not enough to simply know about government and society. Whether voting or volunteering, being an active citizen is just as important.

Top 10 Food Books: 2018
by Annie Bostrom

​Encompassing personal tributes and journeys, scientific examinations, and countless recipes, these 10 outstanding food books were reviewed in Booklist between October 1, 2017, and September 15, 2018. 

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |