Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

Chalk
by Joshua Rivkin

​Rivkin brings his sensibility and prowess as a poet and essayist to this unusually reflective, stealthily dramatic inquiry into the enigmatic life and work of artist Cy Twombly (1928–2011). Rivkin’s fascination with Twombly’s atmospheric paintings and how they capture motion and emotion in layered scribbles, loops, drips, lines from poems, incisions, and vortexes—often massive works that evoke windows, veils, water, wind, war, desire and despair, time and memory—led him on an arduous 10-year quest.

    >>Read More



Chicago Art Rediscovered
by Donna Seaman

As famous as Chicago is for its world-class museums, the city’s distinctive, riling, and haunting homegrown visual art and the daring virtuoso artists who create it are not as well-known as they should be. This predicament will be greatly rectified by an extraordinary run of new books. The seven titles discussed below cover a rich spectrum of Chicago creativity, from one facet of its legendary architectural splendor to the first comprehensive art-historical survey of the city to overviews of specific movements and portraits of individual artists.

Read-alikes: Ladies behind the Lens
by Julia Smith

Mara Rockliff and Simona Ciraolo bring the little-known story of filmmaker Alice Guy-Blaché to life in their new picture-book biography, Lights! Camera! Alice! Yet she was not the only woman with talent behind a camera. The following books bring female artists out of the darkroom or director’s chair and into the spotlight.

Now Hear This: Julia Whelan
by Joyce Saricks

​Julia Whelan’s narration guarantees spot-on pacing, expressive readings that intensify the drama, and a melodic voice that conveys emotions and tone. Whether narrating titles for youth or adults, she conjures characters that reflect the author’s vision and imbue her reading with sensitivity and empathy.

Top 10 Arts Books for Youth: 2018
by Sarah Hunter

Memoirs, biographies, graphic novels, a handful of fiction, and lots and lots of beautiful artwork (of course) make up the spectacular titles in this year’s top 10 arts books, reviewed in Booklist from October 15, 2017, to October 1, 2018.

Top 10 Arts Books: 2018
by Donna Seaman

A genius for all time, trailblazing women painters and a photographer, the artist behind Twin Peaks, an immigrant actor,​ the chronicler of on-the-street New York fashion, and intrepid music critics in action all make for an invigorating “best” arts list selected from Booklist’s October 15, 2017, to October 1, 2018, issues. 

Read-alikes: Fathers, Fame, and Rock ’n’ Roll
by Donna Seaman

Tom Barbash’s novel The Dakota Winters riffs on a set of potent themes: the privileges and dangers of fame, the anxiety of a longed-for comeback, the sticky relationships between a famous father and adult offspring seeking connection and liberty, a fabled New York address, rock ’n’ roll legends and realities, and a city inflamed by creativity and crime. Each of the novels below offers an imaginative and provocative take on one or more of these fertile subjects.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |