Booklist Online

Access to Booklist Online is free through September 30. Read the release.

 

Account: American Library Association
Advanced Search

Digital Editions:

August 2020


July 2020

Booklist’s Guide to Graphic Novels in Libraries

ANNOUNCEMENT

Booklist Publications Issues a Call for New Advisory Board Members:

The American Library Association’s nationally respected book and media review publication, Booklist, is seeking volunteers with readers’-advisory and/or collection development experience, or related business experience, to serve on its advisory board.

Please read the call for volunteers.

Booklist Review of the Day

Star Daughter
by Shveta Thakrar

T​hakrar’s mesmerizing nod to Neil Gaiman’s Stardust tells a different star story, that of 16-year-old half-star Sheetal as she follows the silver starsong of her estranged mother to Svargalok (a heavenly plane). But Sheetal’s reason for ascending doesn’t lie only in wanting to confront her mother; she needs the help of a full star to heal her mortal father, whom she put in the hospital with her undisciplined starfire.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Writers & Readers: To Ask for a Story
by Traci Chee

​I was eight when my grandmother died, and of our time together, I have only one real memory: we were in her apartment, with that milky-gray San Francisco light filtering through the window, and she was showing me how to glue colored pebbles together to make a mosaic.

Read-alikes: Technology, Surveillance, and Resistance
by Nell Keep

In Attack Surface, Cory Doctorow digs deep into the relationship between surveillance technology and political possibility, and asks if change can happen despite overwhelming resistance. Each of these books, ranging from sf to historical fiction to investigative nonfiction, explores the same fruitful concerns in unique ways.

The Shelf Care Interview: V.T. Bidania​

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Julia Smith talks to V.T. Bidania, author of the Astrid and Apollo series, available now from Capstone. 

Top 10 SF/Fantasy & Horror Audiobooks for Youth
by Heather Booth

Thrills, chills, and adventures abound in these starred youth audiobooks reviewed in Booklist between August 2019 and July 2020.

Top 10 SF/Fantasy & Horror Debuts: 2020
by Susan Maguire

​The top 10 sf/fantasy & horror debuts, reviewed in Booklist from August 2019 to July 2020, showcase fresh new voices who explore deep space, historical fantasy worlds, and dark urban centers.

Top 10 SF/Fantasy & Horror for Youth: 2020
by Maggie Reagan

Sirens and ghosts? Time travel and alternate universes? Multiple tales of anthropomorphic bugs? You never know what you’re going to get in the sf/fantasy and horror top 10, selected from books reviewed in Booklist between August 2019 and July 2020.

The Booklist Reader

Digital Editions


August 2020


July 2020

Booklist’s Guide to Graphic Novels in Libraries
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association

Privacy Policy

© 2020 Booklist Publications