Access to Booklist Online is free through August 31. Read the release.

 

Account: American Library Association
Advanced Search

June 1&15, 2020


April 2020

April 2020 Issue

ANNOUNCEMENT

Booklist is published by the American Library Association. Please​ read ALA’s statement condemning violence and racism toward Black people and all People of Color.

Booklist Review of the Day

The Teachers March!
by Sandra Neil Wallace & Rich Wallace, illustrated by Charly Palmer

This stunningly powerful book by a team of award-winning creators should be part of every classroom library and teacher-preparation program. It’s the true story of the Reverend F. D. Reese, who taught high school science—as well as freedom and equality. He led by example, organizing marches in Selma to push for voting rights for African Americans.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Fall Audiobook Preview: 2020
by Heather Booth & Biz Hyzy

​We are pleased to highlight these audiobooks slated for release from July to December 2020. The information is supplied by publishers when available and is subject to change. Unless otherwise indicated, the format listed is a digital download available for library purchase.

 

Writers & Readers: To Live and Die with Dignity—Harriet Tubman’s Legacy for the Elderly
by Erica Armstrong Dunbar

Each morning the sudden squall of hot air startled yet welcomed me. As I walked through the hospital’s automatic doors, I was greeted by forced hot air, meant to warm the hands and faces of visitors. Its loud hum reminded me of the bees that had made a home inside the walls of our home nearly 35 years ago.

 

The Shelf Care Interview: Tracey Hecht

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Julia Smith talks to Tracey Hecht. Hecht is the author of The Nocturnals book series, which includes The Best Burp, published in April, and The Weeping Wombat, scheduled to hit bookshelves this August.

Trade Secrets: School Librarians Leading through Crisis
by Melissa Jacobs

For the past few months, I have felt trapped in the 1993 Bill Murray film Groundhog Day, reliving the same day of remote instruction, Google Meets, Zoom meetings, and Teams calls over and over and over again.

 

The Booklist Odyssey Interview: Scholastic
by Heather Booth

This year’s Odyssey Award for Scholastic’s Hey, Kiddo, produced by Paul Gagne and Jarrett Krosoczka, is the first Odyssey for a graphic novel audio adaptation. In an emotional Zoom call that brought the producers and cast together for the first time, we discussed the complicated production elements, the enduring relevance of the story, and the expanded impact it has when this remarkable work was brought to a fully realized audio format.

 

Read-alikes: The 2020 Printz Winners
by Sarah Hunter

While the 2020 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago has been canceled this year, we’ll still have an opportunity to celebrate 2020’s Printz award and honor winners at a virtual event on June 28 (for more information, visit http://www.ala.org/yalsa/events). The read-alikes below features titles with similar themes, characters, and narrative styles for teens eager for more. 

 

The Booklist Reader

Digital Editions


June 1&15, 2020


April 2020

April 2020 Issue
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association

Privacy Policy

© 2020 Booklist Publications