Mobile Menu Mobile Search

More than 200,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Advanced Search

November 1, 2019


November 2019

November 2019 Issue

Review of the Day

When You Trap a Tiger
by Tae Keller

If stories were written in the stars and guarded by tigers, this wondrous tale would be one of the brightest. Lily is happy when she; her mom; and sister, Sam, move, because it means they will spend more time with their grandmother, their halmoni, whose life is full of magic.

    >>Read More



REVIEWS IN THIS ISSUE

Current Features

Lightning Round: 2019 Debut Authors
by Sarah Hunter

This year was a particularly strong one for debuts, and with so many new authors to choose from, we thought we’d give you a chance to get to know a few a little better. In this series of speedy Q&As, nine 2019 debut authors reveal their favorite writing utensils, coolest place they worked on their book, and more.

Now Hear This: Priya Ayyar
​by Terry Hong

​“Bringing these diverse books to life” is why Priya Ayyar does what she does. She narrates the books she didn’t have when she was growing up—books that resonate with her experiences as a California-born Indian American.

[SPONSORED CONTENT] Research Study: Advancing Literacy with Large Print

Download this white paper covering the nationwide Project Tomorrow® study on the efficacy of large print books on student reading skills and mindsets. Its findings provide new insights into the role of Thorndike Press large print books as an intervention resource to support student reading development. 

Read-alikes: Museum as Muse
by Donna Seaman

Fiction writers are inspired by how museums collect, preserve, and honor life in tangible ways, generating both contemplative and provocative atmospheres as the past and present collide.

Top 10 First Novels on Audio: 2019
by Heather Booth

Full casts, richly evoked settings, and compelling character work are highlights of these audiobooks of debut novels, all of which received starred reviews between November 1, 2018 and October 15, 2019.

Top 10 First Novels for Youth: 2019
by Julia Smith

A wealth of outstanding debut novels graced the pages of Booklist between November 1, 2018 and October 15, 2019, but these were unforgettable.

The Booklist Reader

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |