Advanced Search

Digital Editions:

January 1&15, 2020 (Contents)

November 2020 (Contents)

Booklist's Guide to Graphic Novels in Libraries, 2020


ANNOUNCEMENT

New Booklist Online Exclusive Reviews are now available, and completely free here!

Bookmark this page and check-in monthly for new, must-read, free reviews, published by the most trusted review magazine in the industry.

Booklist Review of the Day

The Parakeet
written and illustrated by Espé, translated by Hannah Chute

Originally published in France in 2017 and affectingly translated into English by Chute, Espé’s artful volume presents his memories in vibrant chapters, saturated mostly in single colors with shades of oranges and reds reserved mostly for his mother’s illness.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Top of the List Interview: Tricia Elam Walker and April Harrison
by Ronny Khuri

​In Nana Akua Goes to School, Zura takes her beloved grandmother to school for Grandparents Day, but she worries what the other kids might say about the tribal marking on Nana Akua’s face. Tricia Elam Walker’s moving story, illuminated by April Harrison’s gorgeous mixed-media artwork, uses cultural specificity to create universal resonance. We spoke to the two rising kidlit stars about their stunning collaboration, our 2020 Top of the List Picture Book.

Top of the List Read-alikes: Year of the Rabbit
by Annie Bostrom

​In Year of the Rabbit, Booklist’s first-ever Top of the List  winner for Adult Graphic Novel, Tian Veasna recounts his family’s experiences in post–Vietnam War Cambodia, revealing starvation, torture, and death under the Khmer Rouge regime, as well as unexpected kindness and uncanny coincidences. The following books—graphic novels, prose novels, and memoirs—chronicle the lives of individuals and families living through war and other political violence.

The Shelf Care Interview: John Gallagher​

In this special #ReadGraphic episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks with John Gallagher, creator of the Max Meow Series. 

Top of the List Read-alikes: These Ghosts are Family
by Donna Seaman

Maisy Card’s enthralling first novel, Top of the List winner These Ghosts are Family, is a multigenerational family saga anchored in the traumas of racism and violence in colonial Jamaica and propelled by a deep, disorienting secret. As the story extends a branch to Harlem, characters are haunted by the pain and suffering of their ancestors. The novels below delve into similarly profound, mysterious, and essential territory. 

Top of the List Read-alikes: Wandering in Strange Lands
by Susan Maguire

​Part cultural history, part travelogue, part memoir, Jerkins’ journey to discover her ancestral lineage takes readers to the Lowcountry of South Carolina and Georgia, Louisiana, and, eventually, Los Angeles, tracing 300 years of Black culture in the U.S. Her warm storytelling style makes Wandering in Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims her Roots as page-turning as it is educational. The titles below take a similar approach, examining racial, ethnic, and cultural identity and complicated histories through a personal lens.

Booklist Backlist: Truly Expansive Fantasy Worlds
by Sarah Hunter

As we stare down the looming shorter, darker, colder days ahead, I find myself, probably much like many of you, on the hunt for books to sink into. What could be better than a well-wrought fantasy world to while away the winter hours?

The Booklist Reader

Digital Editions


January 1&15, 2020 (Contents)

November 2020 (Contents)
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^