Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

November 15, 2018           BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Religion & Spirituality
Top 10 Religion &    Spirituality Books: 2018
Top 10 Religion &    Spirituality Books for    Youth: 2018
Faith and Bravery

Features
Carte Blanche: A Golden    Age?
Refer Madness: Reference    On Call



From BookLinks

November 2018

November 2018 Issue

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day

Milkman
by Anna Burns

Burns (No Bones, 2002) became the first writer from Northern Ireland to win the Man Booker Prize with this raw, traumatic tale addressing timeless themes of brutality, resiliency, and resistance. It is set in an unnamed city at an indeterminate time, but Burns’ world is clearly the Belfast of the Troubles, even though it can double as any totalitarian society where people live in violent conditions and everyone seems to be suffering from some kind of post-traumatic stress disorder.

    >>Read More



Top 10 Religion & Spirituality: 2018
by Ilene Cooper

These 10 titles, reviewed in Booklist between November 15, 2017, and November 1, 2018, cover the world and go back and forth in time, looking at the ways religion has impacted both individuals and society.

The Back Page: Writers Biting the Hands That Feed Them
by Bill Ott

​Novels and movies set in the publishing world often fall into one of two categories: scenery-chewing melodramas or editor-killing crime novels. Both types, however, share one characteristic: writers sniping at the industry that feeds them. And why not? Writing is a solitary trade, even in the era of social media, with limited opportunities for water-cooler gossip about how senior management is doing it wrong. So it’s hardly surprising that, from time to time, novelists enjoy bumping off an editor (only in print, of course) or portraying a ruthless publisher in bed with the bottom line.

Writers and Readers: Doors and Perception
by Tommy Orange

Before I fell in love with reading, and then writing, among other things, I almost became a door-to-door vacuum salesman. We drove in a white van as a team in California, from Concord to Richmond. We went from house to house, pitching to people with bars on their windows, cars on cinder blocks parked on their lawns. We basically forced an older woman to let us use our special solution and vacuum a four-by-four-foot square of her carpet to show her how dirty the rest of her carpet was.

Read-alikes: Race and the Maladies of Otherness
by Donna Seaman

The novels and books of poetry below, written by writers of color, address, as does Devi S. Laskar’s searing debut novel, The Atlas of Reds and Blues, the trauma and derailment catalyzed by racism both insidious and violent. Several of these books also address the inequities intrinsic to women’s lives, injustices multiplied exponentially for women of color, and most accord with Laskar’s strong narrative voice.

Top 10 First Novels on Audio: 2018
by Heather Booth

Listeners will be struck by the breadth and insightfulness in the memorable performances of these standout debuts on audio for adults and youth, reviewed from November 1, 2017, through October 15, 2018.

Top 10 First Novels for Youth: 2018
by Julia Smith

Discovering a talented new author can be just as exciting as finding a new favorite book. Here are 10 debuts, reviewed in Booklist between November 1, 2017, and October 15, 2018, that tick both boxes and deserve space in all youth collections—but good luck keeping them on the shelves!

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |