Mobile Menu Mobile Search

More than 200,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Advanced Search

February 15, 2020


January 2020

January 2020 Issue

BOOKLIST REVIEW OF THE DAY

Snapdragon
by Kat Leyh

​There’s something creepy about Jacks, the odd, gangly, one-eyed old white woman living in Snapdragon’s town, but Snap’s not afraid, especially after Jacks shows her how to take care of a litter of orphaned possums and what she’s up to early in the morning with a wheelbarrow full of roadkill (it involves a very lucrative internet business for skeleton enthusiasts).

    >>Read More



REVIEWS IN THIS ISSUE

Current Features

Spring Audiobook Preview: 2020
by Biz Hyzy

​We are pleased to highlight these audiobooks slated for release from January to June 2020.

Read-alikes: Western Crime
by Don Crinklaw

​In C. J. Box’s latest Long Range, Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett is kept busy investigating bad bear behavior and watching out for his wife and daughter. Still, in the midst of all this, he must catch killers. Here are a few examples of how gun-toting men and women in the modern West have morphed into crime fighters.

The Shelf Care Interview: Chris Ferrie

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Julia Smith talks to Chris Ferrie, award-winning physicist and popular author of science books for children about his new series, the Everyday Science Academy. 

The Rights of All Women
by Maggie Reagan

In a roundabout way, I was named after the protagonist of Paul Zindel’s My Darling, My Hamburger. It was one of my mom’s favorite books. She talked about it a lot when I was younger (that title really stuck with me), so obviously I had absolutely no interest in reading it.

Trade Secrets: Supporting Teen Mental Health
by Danielle Jones

Over the past few years, there’s been a surge in tween and YA books exploring mental health.

Writers & Readers: The Invisible Language of Medicine
by Carol Cassella

​My business card introduces me as a physician and a novelist. This presented a design quandary, given that I can’t separate one from the other and still comprehend who and what I am. But as the two nouns can’t be merged, even by the best Scrabble player, one must come first.

The Booklist Reader

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |