Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Kindest Regards
by Ted Kooser

In American literature, local color denotes the place-specific novels, poems, and essays of the post–Civil War to WWI period that considerably broadened the scope of literary realism. Happily, this has persisted, as Kooser’s entire body of work attests. Kooser has always lived in his region, the heart of the American heartland—Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas. He writes ruminative, reminiscent, secularly numinous poems about its land, animals, people, and, sometimes, the past.

    >>Read More



column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: The History of History
by Michael Cart

So what exactly is historical fiction? Well, obviously fiction about or set in the past. But the question remains, How far in the past? Before the reader was born?

Read-alikes_Vietnam_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Vietnam in Youth Fiction
by Briana Shemroske

Contentious, unsuccessful, and undeniably devastating, the decades-long Vietnam War continues to haunt the countries involved—and their literature—today.

Top-10_Historical-Fiction-audio-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Youth Historical Fiction on Audio
by Joyce Saricks

These titles from the past two years demonstrate that historical fiction works especially well in audio, as readers enliven different eras, characters, and events for young listeners.

Top-10_Historical-Fiction-youth-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2018
by Julia Smith

This year’s batch of noteworthy historical fiction, reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2017, and April 1, 2018, features topics both harrowing and hopeful, murderous and mischievous.

Top-10_Historical-Fiction-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction: 2018
by Donna Seaman

The lives of provocative historical figures inspired many of the best works of historical fiction reviewed in Booklist from April 15, 2017, to April 1, 2018, including outstanding yet underappreciated women.

Travel-Guide-Roundup-2018_f1.jpgTravel Roundup: Spring Travel Guides, 2018
by Annie Bostrom

The following stand-alone travel titles and series guides will be published between now and the fall, when we’ll check in with our next biyearly “Travel Guide Roundup.” Maybe by then we’ll have a lunar or interplanetary travel guide to share; luckily, Earth has lots to offer in the dozens of titles below.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |