Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
The Forgetting Spell
by Lauren Myracle

In Wishing Day (2016), Myracle introduced three sisters whose mother had disappeared some years ago. It focused on the eldest, Natasha, and the three wishes she made on her Wishing Day, a rite of passage for girls growing up in Willow Hill. Now her sister Darya turns 13, and it’s her turn to repeat the ritual with wishes of her own . . . maybe.

    >>Read More



read-alikes_kids-run_f1.jpg Read-alikes: Kids on the Run
by Donna Seaman

In these breakneck novels, children, especially those whose mothers or fathers have died or abandoned them, get caught up in the troubles of their rogue parents or guardians, either living on the lam with them or being forced by dire family predicaments to undertake perilous quests.

Guest-Speaker_Squad-Goals_f1.jpg Guest Speaker: Squad Goals
by Jason Reynolds

Dan Brown, Stephenie Meyer, and Gary Larson walk into a bar. And I’m the bartender. And after listening to their strange banter in my imagination, while serving up red in three ways—wine, blood, and Kool-Aid—I stroll into my agent’s office, plop down in the chair in front of her desk, and say, Dan Brown, Stephenie Meyer, and Gary Larson walk into a bar.

eds-choice-2016_f1.jpgBooklist Editors’ Choice: Audio for Adults, 2016
eds-choice-2016_f1.jpgBooklist Editors’ Choice: Audio for Youth, 2016
eds-choice-2016_f1.jpgEditors’ Choice: Adult Books for Young Adults, 2016

Selected by the Books for Youth editors, the following titles constitute the year’s best personal reading for teenagers among adult books published in 2016. More on each book’s content and suggested audience can be found in the full-length Booklist review.

another-look-at_Outsiders_f1.jpg Another Look at: S. E. Hinton’s The Outsiders
by Daniel Kraus

What more can be said about the book that launched the modern YA novel? Books as recent as David Arnold’s Kids of Appetite (2016) pay direct homage; phrases like “Stay gold, Ponyboy” are as entrenched into our vernacular as “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times”; and Hinton’s vision of a scuffed, leather-jacketed teen gang has influenced, along with earlier movies like The Wild One and Rebel without a Cause, our view of beautiful, tortured delinquency.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |