Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Some Rise by Sin
by Philip Caputo

Father Timothy Riordan, a motorcycle-riding Franciscan friar, shepherds the flock in San Patricio, a small Sonoran town caught in the crossfire between La Mariposa, a drug lord and self-styled religious leader who heads the terrifying narcotics gang La Fraternidad, and a priest-hating, possibly psychopathic army captain advised by a corrupt policeman.

    >>Read More



column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: The First Golden Age
by Michael Cart

Welcome, readers, to the seventies, once called by cultural observer Lucy Rollins “a joke decade, defined by shag carpet, pet rocks, streaking, polyester leisure suits and the thump-thump of Beethoven to a disco beat.” Joke it may have been in part, but the decade was also, more seriously, the first golden age of young adult literature.

read-alikes_female-pilots_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Picture-Book Biographies of Female Pilots
by Julia Smith

The exploits of history’s female fliers make for thrilling reads, and Matthew Clark Smith’s picture-book biography Lighter Than Air tells the exciting story of balloonist Sophie Blanchard, the world’s first woman pilot. Here are a few titles about the daring women who followed her lead.

core-Group-Biographies_f1.jpgCore Collection: Group Biographies
by Donna Seaman

Group biographies not only present multiple lives within one book; they also illuminate the synergy among peers or the similarities of experience among strangers involved in the same passions and pursuits, highlighting both what is unique about a person and their shared missions and struggles.

column_back-page_f1.jpgThe Back Page: Against Borders
by Bill Ott

Among my proudest accomplishments in more than three decades of work at Booklist was serving as one of the editors and the copublisher of Hazel Rochman’s Against Borders: Promoting Books for a Multicultural World, which won the 1993 G. K. Hall Award for Library Literature.

top-10-biography-audio_f1.jpgTop 10 Biographies on Audio: 2017
by Joyce Saricks

These biographies and memoirs, reviewed in Booklist between June 2016 and February 1, 2017, introduce listeners to a host of intriguing contemporary and historical personalities.

top-10-Biographies-youth-2017_f1.jpgTop 10 Biographies for Youth: 2017
by Sarah Hunter

This batch of the best biographies for youth, reviewed in Booklist between June 2016 and February 1, 2017, features a wide range of historic figures, from activists and writers to athletes and musicians.

Blogs
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |