Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
The Destruction of Hillary Clinton
by Susan Bordo

Millions of people (more than 65 million) were disappointed by Hillary Clinton’s loss in the 2016 election. But for a certain subset of Hillary supporters, the result was particularly gut-wrenching. Women of Hillary’s age understood viscerally how difficult and uncharted the societal journey had been for women growing up in the 1950s and ’60s, and their support for Hillary had been combined with admiration for one of their own who withstood the blows and kept fighting.

    >>Read More



column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: A Near-Death Experience—YA in the Nineties
by Michael Cart

In our survey of 50 Years of YA, we now arrive at the nineties, and what’s that I hear? Could it be the death knell of young adult literature? Could it possibly be that the erstwhile lively genre was coming perilously close to its expiration date in the early years of the decade? Alas, yes.

read-alikes_Prejudice_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Waking Up to Prejudice
by Sarah Hunter

Middle-grade fiction often focuses broadly on characters learning about how their worlds really work, but for kids who face racism or prejudice, the way the world works can be quite ugly.

Listen-alikes_Westerns_f1.jpgListen-alikes: Westerns Meet Historical Fiction
by Joyce Saricks

Whether listeners prefer genre westerns or historical fiction set in the American West, these genre blends, like Huck out West, feature the interplay of landscape, character, and action that appeals to fans of both.

Trend-Haunted_f1.jpgTrend Alert: Haunted and Fantastic Historical Fiction
by Donna Seaman

The combination of fact and imagination is what makes historical fiction compelling and enlightening. This union of opposites seduces readers into learning about historical events and figures by offering all the psychological richness and narrative excitement of storytelling. But a select group of novelists has taken this blend of accuracy and interpretation to higher levels of invention, leaping into the realms of the mystic, the ghostly, and the utterly fantastic.

top-10-Historical-Fiction-Audio-2017_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction on Audio: 2017
by Joyce Saricks

These novels, reviewed between April 2015 and April 2017, span the genre’s range and include family sagas, social histories, and biographical historical fiction.

top-10-Historical-Fiction-youth-2017_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2017
by Julia Smith

Political strife, religious miracles, 1990s hip-hop—is there anything historical fiction can’t do? These standout titles, some daring, others heart wrenching, were reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2016, and April 1, 2017.

Blogs
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |