Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
The Whole Thing Together
by Ann Brashares

In a world full of increasingly nontraditional families, Sasha and Ray have a particularly complicated situation. They share three sisters and a bedroom, but they’ve never met and aren’t related. Ray’s mom, Lila, was once married to Sasha’s dad, Robert. Three daughters later (Emma, Quinn, and Mattie), their marriage disintegrated.

    >>Read More



youth-preview-spring-2017_f1.jpgSpring Youth Preview: 2017
by Briana Shemroske

This announcement section offers Booklist readers a selected preview of especially notable new titles for young adult, middle-grade, and young readers. All titles will be published in the upcoming spring 2017 season.

column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: The First Golden Age
by Michael Cart

Welcome, readers, to the seventies, once called by cultural observer Lucy Rollins “a joke decade, defined by shag carpet, pet rocks, streaking, polyester leisure suits and the thump-thump of Beethoven to a disco beat.” Joke it may have been in part, but the decade was also, more seriously, the first golden age of young adult literature.

read-alikes_female-pilots_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Picture-Book Biographies of Female Pilots
by Julia Smith

The exploits of history’s female fliers make for thrilling reads, and Matthew Clark Smith’s picture-book biography Lighter Than Air tells the exciting story of balloonist Sophie Blanchard, the world’s first woman pilot. Here are a few titles about the daring women who followed her lead.

core-Group-Biographies_f1.jpgCore Collection: Group Biographies
by Donna Seaman

Group biographies not only present multiple lives within one book; they also illuminate the synergy among peers or the similarities of experience among strangers involved in the same passions and pursuits, highlighting both what is unique about a person and their shared missions and struggles.

column_back-page_f1.jpgThe Back Page: Against Borders
by Bill Ott

Among my proudest accomplishments in more than three decades of work at Booklist was serving as one of the editors and the copublisher of Hazel Rochman’s Against Borders: Promoting Books for a Multicultural World, which won the 1993 G. K. Hall Award for Library Literature.

top-10-biography-audio_f1.jpgTop 10 Biographies on Audio: 2017
by Joyce Saricks

These biographies and memoirs, reviewed in Booklist between June 2016 and February 1, 2017, introduce listeners to a host of intriguing contemporary and historical personalities.

Blogs
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |