Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Chuck Klosterman X
by Chuck Klosterman

Klosterman (But What If We’re Wrong? Thinking about the Present as If It Were the Past, 2016) admits at the start of this highly entertaining collection of previously published pieces, mostly about music and sports, that gathering old articles is not something he particularly likes doing (“It . . . isn’t pleasant”), although, on the other hand, he loves reading the indexes to his books (“It’s always my favorite part”). That’s Klosterman for you—honest, unpredictable, and fun.

    >>Read More



Before-Outsiders_f1.jpgBefore The Outsiders
by Ilene Cooper

In the decade and a half before S. E. Hinton’s The Outsiders (1967), books for young readers did exist. It’s just that these books were like the Eisenhower years: conformist, status-quo fare, quite unlike those Vietnam-era titles to come, all rowdy and ready to rock the establishment.

column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: A Near-Death Experience—YA in the Nineties
by Michael Cart

In our survey of 50 Years of YA, we now arrive at the nineties, and what’s that I hear? Could it be the death knell of young adult literature? Could it possibly be that the erstwhile lively genre was coming perilously close to its expiration date in the early years of the decade? Alas, yes.

read-alikes_Prejudice_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Waking Up to Prejudice
by Sarah Hunter

Middle-grade fiction often focuses broadly on characters learning about how their worlds really work, but for kids who face racism or prejudice, the way the world works can be quite ugly.

Listen-alikes_Westerns_f1.jpgListen-alikes: Westerns Meet Historical Fiction
by Joyce Saricks

Whether listeners prefer genre westerns or historical fiction set in the American West, these genre blends, like Huck out West, feature the interplay of landscape, character, and action that appeals to fans of both.

Trend-Haunted_f1.jpgTrend Alert: Haunted and Fantastic Historical Fiction
by Donna Seaman

The combination of fact and imagination is what makes historical fiction compelling and enlightening. This union of opposites seduces readers into learning about historical events and figures by offering all the psychological richness and narrative excitement of storytelling. But a select group of novelists has taken this blend of accuracy and interpretation to higher levels of invention, leaping into the realms of the mystic, the ghostly, and the utterly fantastic.

top-10-Historical-Fiction-Audio-2017_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction on Audio: 2017
by Joyce Saricks

These novels, reviewed between April 2015 and April 2017, span the genre’s range and include family sagas, social histories, and biographical historical fiction.

Blogs
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |