Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Grit
by Gillian French

Feisty Darcy Prentiss is drawn to wild times. She’ll grab at any kind of dare, chug any kind of liquor, and kiss any kind of boy just to alleviate the tedium of small-town life. The summer before her senior year, Darcy joins her sister, Mags, and her cousin, Nell, raking blueberries on a local farm. There’s plenty of tension in the air, as Darcy keeps an eye on her nemesis, Shea Gaines.

    >>Read More



Before-Outsiders_f1.jpgBefore The Outsiders
by Ilene Cooper

In the decade and a half before S. E. Hinton’s The Outsiders (1967), books for young readers did exist. It’s just that these books were like the Eisenhower years: conformist, status-quo fare, quite unlike those Vietnam-era titles to come, all rowdy and ready to rock the establishment.

column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: A Near-Death Experience—YA in the Nineties
by Michael Cart

In our survey of 50 Years of YA, we now arrive at the nineties, and what’s that I hear? Could it be the death knell of young adult literature? Could it possibly be that the erstwhile lively genre was coming perilously close to its expiration date in the early years of the decade? Alas, yes.

read-alikes_Prejudice_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Waking Up to Prejudice
by Sarah Hunter

Middle-grade fiction often focuses broadly on characters learning about how their worlds really work, but for kids who face racism or prejudice, the way the world works can be quite ugly.

Listen-alikes_Westerns_f1.jpgListen-alikes: Westerns Meet Historical Fiction
by Joyce Saricks

Whether listeners prefer genre westerns or historical fiction set in the American West, these genre blends, like Huck out West, feature the interplay of landscape, character, and action that appeals to fans of both.

Trend-Haunted_f1.jpgTrend Alert: Haunted and Fantastic Historical Fiction
by Donna Seaman

The combination of fact and imagination is what makes historical fiction compelling and enlightening. This union of opposites seduces readers into learning about historical events and figures by offering all the psychological richness and narrative excitement of storytelling. But a select group of novelists has taken this blend of accuracy and interpretation to higher levels of invention, leaping into the realms of the mystic, the ghostly, and the utterly fantastic.

top-10-Historical-Fiction-Audio-2017_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction on Audio: 2017
by Joyce Saricks

These novels, reviewed between April 2015 and April 2017, span the genre’s range and include family sagas, social histories, and biographical historical fiction.

Blogs
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |