Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 170,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Out of Wonder
by Kwame Alexander

Newbery medalist Kwame Alexander has come up with a fresh and joyful way to interest children in poetry. “A poem is a small but powerful thing,” he says in his thought-provoking preface while noting that, throughout his life, he’s been inspired by poetry. So here, in this beautiful book, along with his coauthors, poets Chris Colderly and Marjory Wentworth, Alexander offers a collection of 20 poems.

    >>Read More



column_every-book_f1.jpgEvery Book Its Reader: Resolve to Reach More Readers
by Neil Hollands
There’s a gap in almost every field between the articles in professional or scholarly writing and actual daily practice. On one level, that’s great: we need ideals that show what we value.
TOL-Interview-2016_f1.jpg The Booklist Top of the List Interview: Kenneth C. Davis
by Ilene Cooper

Best-selling author Kenneth C. Davis is one of America’s top investigators of unknown and forgotten histories, and In the Shadow of Liberty: The Hidden History of Slavery, Four Presidents, and Five Black Lives is one of his best.

read-alikes_kids-run_f1.jpg Read-alikes: Kids on the Run
by Donna Seaman

In these breakneck novels, children, especially those whose mothers or fathers have died or abandoned them, get caught up in the troubles of their rogue parents or guardians, either living on the lam with them or being forced by dire family predicaments to undertake perilous quests.

Guest-Speaker_Squad-Goals_f1.jpg Guest Speaker: Squad Goals
by Jason Reynolds

Dan Brown, Stephenie Meyer, and Gary Larson walk into a bar. And I’m the bartender. And after listening to their strange banter in my imagination, while serving up red in three ways—wine, blood, and Kool-Aid—I stroll into my agent’s office, plop down in the chair in front of her desk, and say, Dan Brown, Stephenie Meyer, and Gary Larson walk into a bar.

eds-choice-2016_f1.jpgBooklist Editors’ Choice: Audio for Adults, 2016
eds-choice-2016_f1.jpgBooklist Editors’ Choice: Audio for Youth, 2016
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |