Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 180,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day
Be Prepared
by Vera Brosgol

Vera feels too Russian for her friends in Albany. She can never quite get the hang of sleepover birthday parties, and she’ll never have expensive toys like they do. So when she hears about a summer camp just for Russian American kids, she’s sure she’s finally found her place. But she’s much younger than her tent-mates, and—impossibly—she’s not Russian enough to fit in.

    >>Read More



Spring-Ref-Update-2018_f1.jpgSpring E-reference Update, 2018: Databases and E-books
by Susan Maguire

We asked publishers “What’s new?” in the world of e-reference, and here’s what we heard about new reference databases, e-books, and e-book platforms as well as significant updates and enhancements to existing products.

column_carte-blanche_f1.jpgCarte Blanche: The History of History
by Michael Cart

So what exactly is historical fiction? Well, obviously fiction about or set in the past. But the question remains, How far in the past? Before the reader was born?

Read-alikes_Vietnam_f1.jpgRead-alikes: Vietnam in Youth Fiction
by Briana Shemroske

Contentious, unsuccessful, and undeniably devastating, the decades-long Vietnam War continues to haunt the countries involved—and their literature—today.

Top-10_Historical-Fiction-audio-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Youth Historical Fiction on Audio
by Joyce Saricks

These titles from the past two years demonstrate that historical fiction works especially well in audio, as readers enliven different eras, characters, and events for young listeners.

Top-10_Historical-Fiction-youth-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2018
by Julia Smith

This year’s batch of noteworthy historical fiction, reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2017, and April 1, 2018, features topics both harrowing and hopeful, murderous and mischievous.

Top-10_Historical-Fiction-2018_f1.jpgTop 10 Historical Fiction: 2018
by Donna Seaman

The lives of provocative historical figures inspired many of the best works of historical fiction reviewed in Booklist from April 15, 2017, to April 1, 2018, including outstanding yet underappreciated women.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |