Advanced Search

Readers’ Advisory: Ideas and Practice

This series of Booklist workshops on Thursday, March 14 is designed to keep you up to speed on both the ideas and practice that will enhance your RA game. Register now to learn from experts in the field about how genres relate to each other, how to talk to patrons about their leisure reading, and how to write an effective book annotation.

Booklist Review of the Day

Here After
by Amy Lin

Consider this fair warning: Lin’s debut memoir might make readers cry throughout. At the very least, it will make them think about grief—their own and that of others—in profound and possibly altogether new ways.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Reading and Listening Together: Print and Audio Standouts, 2024
by Heather Booth, Annie Bostrom, Susan Maguire, and Donna Seaman

For this book-discussion gathering, we suggest books adapted for the screen, nonfiction for an election year, first novels for the discovery of new voices, keenly inventive sf, engaging memoirs, and, because we all need laughter and hope, rom-coms. Here’s to lively book discussions!

Trade Secrets: Using the Great Stories Club
by Amelia Jenkins and Amy Ojserkis

​The ALA Public Programs Office has awarded numerous cycles of the Great Stories Club (GSC) grant to libraries around the country and has now made available these terrific, free resources (at ala.org/tools/programming/greatstories/resources) that are sure to appeal to all your teens, whether they are shy, bookish, artistic, social, gamers, or activists.

Shelf Care Interview logoThe Shelf Care Interview: Stephanie V.W. Lucianovic

In this episode of Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks with Stephanie V. W. Lucianovic about her latest picture book, Touch the Sky

photo of Cara Hunter10 Questions for Cara Hunter
By John Charles

Cara Hunter is the author of instant New York Times best-selling thriller Murder in the Family as well as the Sunday Times best-selling crime novels featuring DI Adam Fawley and his Oxford-based police team.

photo of Mary Liza Hartong10 Questions for Mary Liza Harton
By John Charles

Mary Liza Hartong lives and writes in her hometown of Nashville. She graduated from Dartmouth College with a degree in English and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. She also holds a master’s from Dartmouth in Creative Writing and a master’s from the University College Cork in British and American Literature via Fulbright grant.

High-Demand Read-alikes: Tales of Singers and Songwriters
by Donna Seaman

Jane Smiley overturns the typical tale of a 1970s musician in Lucky, her deeply internalized portrayal of a woman singer-songwriter who lives a quiet, humble life. Each of the novels below offers a fresh variation on the irresistible theme of a singer-songwriter finding her way to art and authenticity. 

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^