Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 200,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

Broken Places & Outer Spaces
by Nnedi Okorafor

​Okorafor, a Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Award-winner, is the author of richly imagined, African-rooted works of science fiction and fantasy––including the Binti trilogy, the Akata books, and titles in the Black Panther comic series, including Long Live the King and Wakanda Forever, starring female characters, namely the Dora Milaje and Shuri, and the forthcoming LaGuardia. In this galvanizing account, she shares the shock and horror of medically caused paralysis and her grueling, ultimately triumphant reclamation of the use of her legs.

    >>Read More



Top 10 Biographies for Youth: 2019
by Ronny Khuri

​Visual storytelling—whether through comics, traditional picture books, or innovative multimedia—is in the forefront of this list of the best biographies reviewed in Booklist between June 1, 2018 and May 15, 2019.

Top 10 Biographies: 2019
by Donna Seaman

The most exceptional biographies reviewed in Booklist since June 2018 rescue lost stories about women war heroes and scientists and a Black athlete, cast new light on the lives of activists and artists from Lorraine Hansberry to Edward Gorey, and present in full the achievements of a mighty Supreme Court Justice.  

Real-Life Reference: Author’s Edition
by Susan Maguire

​Elizabeth McCracken captured the hearts of librarians with her first novel, The Giant’s House (1996), a tender and eccentric tale about a lonely Cape Cod librarian and one of her patrons, a literal giant. Her latest novel, Bowlaway (2019), demonstrates the same compassion for misfits, but this time over the course of generations.

3 Questions About: Makerspaces
​by Sarah Hunter

There’s no better time to talk about makerspaces than our Spotlight on Crafts & Gardening, so I polled a panel of makerspace librarians and volunteers to discuss what makes their makerspaces work and what keeps kids coming back for more. 

Guess What I’m Hearing: Debbie Macomber Recommends Audiobooks for Multitasking
by Debbie Macomber

​Audiobooks have changed my reading habits in a big way. Because of audiobooks, I have access to more books in an enjoyable and entertaining format. Listening to books allows me the pleasure of multitasking. I can devour a wide variety of novels while knitting, cooking, gardening, or driving.

Read-alikes: Botanical Crafting
by Annie Bostrom

​The great outdoors have always been in style, but botanical themes are trendier than ever in our indoor spaces, too. In DIY Watercolor Flowers, Marie Boudon shows how to add floral art to journals, stationery, or nearly any other flat surface. The books below lead crafty hands through other plant-inspired projects, from making posies out of paper to designing artful arrangements with actual flowers.

Shelf Care
Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | | |