Mobile Menu Mobile Search

Booklist Online: More than 200,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

Review Of The Day

The Scar
by Mary Cregan

​Cregan was a 27-year-old book designer in New York when she gave birth to her first child. All seemed well until two days later, when her daughter, Anna, died, and Cregan fell into a deep depression. Things got so bad that she attempted suicide. It took her many years to confront her past, but confront it she does in this remarkable book, which goes against everything she learned as a child growing up in a large Irish-Catholic family (“It was best not to draw attention to oneself”).

    >>Read More



Top 10 Health and Wellness: 2019
by Donna Seaman

From hormones to blood, influenza to opiates, rage to self-help, and running to yoga, the best health and wellness titles of the past year combine, with powerful effect, science, social concerns, and personal discoveries.

Spring Youth Preview: 2019
by Ada Wolin

​This announcement section offers Booklist readers a selected preview of especially notable new titles for young adult, middle-grade, and young readers. All titles will be published in the spring 2019 season.

Writers & Readers: Breaking Boundaries
by Crystal Hana Kim

In 2015, while writing my first novel, I was also teaching academic-essay writing to socioeconomically disadvantaged high-school students, many of whom were hoping to be the first in their family to go to college. While guiding my students through the college-application process, what I noticed most was their pervasive fear that despite their stellar grades, accomplishments, and all the obstacles they had overcome, they didn’t belong in higher education.

Talking With: Kosoko Jackson
by Rob Bittner

​Kosoko Jackson discusses the importance of intersectional diversity in his debut novel, A Place for Wolves.

Now Hear This: Soneela Nankani
​by Terry Hong

​She can sound like a frightened little girl on the run or a gruff old man who’s seen it all. She can talk financial crises, offer self-help guidance, embody fantasy worlds, and channel her inner Gisele Bündchen. She narrates in multiple tongues, donning accents and languages with ease as she guides headphoned listeners across borders and cultures.

Read-alikes: Tales from the Border
by Donna Seaman

The revelatory and affecting memoirs, histories, and novels below astutely examine the factual, emotional, familial, social, political, racial, and ethical dimensions of the complex borderland and immigration issues that propel Aaron Bobrow-Strain’s The Death and Life of Aida Hernandez.

Blogs
Blogs
FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
| | | | | | | |