Advanced Search

May Booklist Reader is live!

Booklist Reader is now an exclusive service for Booklist subscribers and their patrons. Sharing is easy! 

To learn more visit this quick video.

Booklist Review of the Day

Joan: A Novel of Joan of Arc
by Katherine J. Chen

Her battles began in her own home. In this revolutionary reimagining of Joan of Arc, the legendary figure is first shown not in gleaming armor winning glory on the battlefield, but as a girl sitting on the sidelines while boys from neighboring towns fight with rocks.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Top 10 Historical Fiction Debuts: 2022
By Donna Seaman

The first-time historical novelists called out here as the best in a year of many excellent debut works bring fluency in history, emotional intelligence, and vivid imagination to tales of individuals navigating tyranny, war, exile, racism, and love around the world.  

Top 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2022
by Julia Smith

Love, danger, adventure, and irascible animals all have a place in the cream of this year’s crop of historical fiction. All the selected titles were reviewed in Booklist between May 15, 2021, and May 1, 2022.

Icon for Shelf Care: The PodcastOn this episode of Booklist’s Shelf Care: The Podcast, host Susan Maguire talks to NoveList’s Halle Eisenman about her turn as chair of the RUSA CODES’ Reading List committee, and what that list can do for you (and your patrons). Then Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman shares millions (OK, not millions) of suggestions for forthcoming books of biography, poetry, fiction, and more.

Shelf Care Interview IconThe Shelf Care Interview: Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks to Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson, creators of Barb and the Ghost Blade, the sequel to Barb the Berzerker

Top 10 Historical Fiction: 2022
By Donna Seaman

From a barrier-leaping African American woman in the Gilded Age to a military coup in Guatemala and the woman bookseller who first published James Joyce’s Ulysses a century ago, the most radiant historical novels of the past 12 months illuminate many lives and times.

Booklist Backlist: Music-Loving Sleuths
by Bill Ott

​Music is everywhere in crime fiction, sometimes at the center of the story but most often providing the soundtrack for sleuths whose playlists help keep them sane amid the blood splatter. Here’s a list of music-loving sleuths organized by their preferred sounds.

Poster from Everything Everywhere All at OnceRead-alikes for Everything Everywhere All at Once: Quintessential Time- and Genre-Bending Novels

Watch out, Marvel! You may think you have the market cornered when it comes to multiverse cinema experiences, but anyone who’s seen Everything Everywhere All at Once would argue that watching Evelyn Wang (Michelle Yeoh) jump along the space-time continuum is far more fascinating than any comic book hero.

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^