Advanced Search

May Booklist Reader is live!

Booklist Reader is now an exclusive service for Booklist subscribers and their patrons. Sharing is easy! 

To learn more visit this quick video.

Booklist Review of the Day

When You Call My Name
by Tucker Shaw

Set against a backdrop of New York City in 1990, Shaw’s novel is narrated in the alternating perspectives of two young men, Adam and Ben, both on the cusp of 18.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Top 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2022
by Julia Smith

Love, danger, adventure, and irascible animals all have a place in the cream of this year’s crop of historical fiction. All the selected titles were reviewed in Booklist between May 15, 2021, and May 1, 2022.

Top 10 Historical Fiction: 2022
By Donna Seaman

From a barrier-leaping African American woman in the Gilded Age to a military coup in Guatemala and the woman bookseller who first published James Joyce’s Ulysses a century ago, the most radiant historical novels of the past 12 months illuminate many lives and times.

Icon for Shelf Care: The PodcastOn this episode of Booklist’s Shelf Care: The Podcast, host Susan Maguire talks to NoveList’s Halle Eisenman about her turn as chair of the RUSA CODES’ Reading List committee, and what that list can do for you (and your patrons). Then Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman shares millions (OK, not millions) of suggestions for forthcoming books of biography, poetry, fiction, and more.

Shelf Care Interview IconThe Shelf Care Interview: Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks to Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson, creators of Barb and the Ghost Blade, the sequel to Barb the Berzerker

Booklist Backlist: Music-Loving Sleuths
by Bill Ott

​Music is everywhere in crime fiction, sometimes at the center of the story but most often providing the soundtrack for sleuths whose playlists help keep them sane amid the blood splatter. Here’s a list of music-loving sleuths organized by their preferred sounds.

Trend Alert: Investigative Journalism in Mysteries
by Sarah Hunter

At its best, journalism seeks out the truth, digging into the facts and uncovering secrets to tell stories that hold those in power to account. Is it any wonder that the plucky investigative journalist is an easy stand-in for an intrepid detective in a mystery?

Poster from Everything Everywhere All at OnceRead-alikes for Everything Everywhere All at Once: Quintessential Time- and Genre-Bending Novels

Watch out, Marvel! You may think you have the market cornered when it comes to multiverse cinema experiences, but anyone who’s seen Everything Everywhere All at Once would argue that watching Evelyn Wang (Michelle Yeoh) jump along the space-time continuum is far more fascinating than any comic book hero.

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^