Advanced Search

May Booklist Reader is live!

Booklist Reader is now an exclusive service for Booklist subscribers and their patrons. Sharing is easy! 

To learn more visit this quick video.

Booklist Review of the Day

Living & Dying in America: A Daily Chronicle, 2020–2022
written & illustrated by Steve Brodner

​The COVID-19 pandemic still rolls on, but perhaps the worst has come and gone—and in Living & Dying in America, cartoonist Brodner captures hundreds of lives led and lost during the first two years of COVID-19 in the U.S. To those we’ve lost, he offers loving tributes, providing the reader an opportunity to connect with real people who are now gone to us.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Top 10 Reference: 2022
By Susan Maguire

​These top 10 reference books were reviewed in Booklist between May 15, 2021 and May 1, 2022, and represent useful resources for libraries of all sizes.

Top 10 Historical Fiction on Audio for Youth
by Heather Booth

Notable on this year’s list are verse novels, new perspectives on classics, and the first appearance of a post-9/11–set title as historical fiction for young listeners.

Icon for Shelf Care: The PodcastOn this episode of Booklist’s Shelf Care: The Podcast, host Susan Maguire talks to NoveList’s Halle Eisenman about her turn as chair of the RUSA CODES’ Reading List committee, and what that list can do for you (and your patrons). Then Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman shares millions (OK, not millions) of suggestions for forthcoming books of biography, poetry, fiction, and more.

Shelf Care Interview IconThe Shelf Care Interview: Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks to Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson, creators of Barb and the Ghost Blade, the sequel to Barb the Berzerker

Top 10 Historical Fiction Debuts: 2022
By Donna Seaman

The first-time historical novelists called out here as the best in a year of many excellent debut works bring fluency in history, emotional intelligence, and vivid imagination to tales of individuals navigating tyranny, war, exile, racism, and love around the world.  

Top 10 Historical Fiction for Youth: 2022
by Julia Smith

Love, danger, adventure, and irascible animals all have a place in the cream of this year’s crop of historical fiction. All the selected titles were reviewed in Booklist between May 15, 2021, and May 1, 2022.

Poster from Everything Everywhere All at OnceRead-alikes for Everything Everywhere All at Once: Quintessential Time- and Genre-Bending Novels

Watch out, Marvel! You may think you have the market cornered when it comes to multiverse cinema experiences, but anyone who’s seen Everything Everywhere All at Once would argue that watching Evelyn Wang (Michelle Yeoh) jump along the space-time continuum is far more fascinating than any comic book hero.

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^