Advanced Search

Booklist Reader October issue is live now

The October issue of Booklist Reader is live now. Be sure to check out the new digital library patron–facing magazine featuring diverse readers’ advisory recommendations for readers of all ages. Available to all now through January 2022.

Click here for more.

Booklist Review of the Day

Cloud Cuckoo Land
by Anthony Doerr, Read by Marin Ireland and Simon Jones

In a paean to the power of books to nurture and heal by capturing both the beauty and chaos of the world, Doerr’s new epic novel spans eight centuries. Both Ireland and Jones perform with appropriate pace and cadence for listeners to become immersed in this ambitious, imaginative novel.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Listen Up: As Seen on TV
by Heather Booth

Who hasn’t listened to an audiobook and wondered, “Where have I heard that voice before?” Many actors maintain a healthy balance of on- and off-screen work. Here are some standouts tagged for their television and film roles and role in a recommended audiobook. 

Top 10 Arts Books for Youth: 2021
by Julia Smith

Singing, dancing, photography, fashion—these are just a few of the powerful tools of expression in this year’s best books on the arts, reviewed in Booklist between October 15, 2020, and October 1, 2021.

The Shelf Care Interview: Dave Scheidt and Miranda Harmon

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks with Dave Scheidt and Miranda Harmon, creators of Mayor Good Boy.

Top 10 Art Books: 2021
by Donna Seaman

Biographies and memoirs occupy many of the slots on the list of the best art books reviewed in Booklist over the past 12 months, including portraits of queer artists and artists of color confronting harsh discrimination; here, too, is a deep history of music and a chronicle of a reality-TV franchise.

Booklist Backlist: Gentle Botanical Adventures
by Sarah Hunter

Set in gardens, forests, and other natural areas, these stories feature entrancing depictions of flowers, plants, and trees; light magic or fantasy; and warm connections between characters. 

Read-alikes: Tree-Centric Novels
by Donna Seaman

In each of these novels, characters face grief and upheaval, while a cherished tree or forest shapes and reflects human struggles, hope, and concern about the future of life on earth.

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^