Advanced Search

May Booklist Reader is live!

Booklist Reader is now an exclusive service for Booklist subscribers and their patrons. Sharing is easy! 

To learn more visit this quick video.

Booklist Review of the Day

Miss Rita, Mystery Reader
by Sam Donovan and Kristen Wixted, illustrated by Violet Tobacco

This sweet and reassuring picture book tells the story of a young child, Tori, who’s worried how their class will react to their dad, the designated “Mystery Reader.” Wise, empathetic Dad lets the child come up with a solution: the two will do the reading presentation together, to great acclaim and a happy ending. There’s one twist: Dad is a drag queen.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Booklist Backlist: Music-Loving Sleuths
by Bill Ott

​Music is everywhere in crime fiction, sometimes at the center of the story but most often providing the soundtrack for sleuths whose playlists help keep them sane amid the blood splatter. Here’s a list of music-loving sleuths organized by their preferred sounds.

Trend Alert: Investigative Journalism in Mysteries
by Sarah Hunter

At its best, journalism seeks out the truth, digging into the facts and uncovering secrets to tell stories that hold those in power to account. Is it any wonder that the plucky investigative journalist is an easy stand-in for an intrepid detective in a mystery?

Poster from Everything Everywhere All at OnceRead-alikes for Everything Everywhere All at Once: Quintessential Time- and Genre-Bending Novels

Watch out, Marvel! You may think you have the market cornered when it comes to multiverse cinema experiences, but anyone who’s seen Everything Everywhere All at Once would argue that watching Evelyn Wang (Michelle Yeoh) jump along the space-time continuum is far more fascinating than any comic book hero.

Icon for Shelf Care: The PodcastOn this episode of Booklist’s Shelf Care: The Podcast, host Susan Maguire talks to NoveList’s Halle Eisenman about her turn as chair of the RUSA CODES’ Reading List committee, and what that list can do for you (and your patrons). Then Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman shares millions (OK, not millions) of suggestions for forthcoming books of biography, poetry, fiction, and more.

Shelf Care Interview IconThe Shelf Care Interview: Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks to Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson, creators of Barb and the Ghost Blade, the sequel to Barb the Berzerker

Read-alikes: Crime and Punishment Close to Home
by Annie Bostrom

​The true-crime memoirs below are all courageously written by people convicted of crimes or by individuals otherwise touched by crime, whether by location, personal connection, or both.

Navigating Newbery: Revisiting Holes (We Dig It)
by Maggie Reagan

Ultimately, what was and remains the true mystery of Holes is how it manages to hold such disparate stories and genres and braid them into a singular narrative that has charmed and inspired readers for two and a half decades.

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^