Advanced Search

ANNOUNCEMENT

@booklist_hq is an Instagram site that does not have any affiliation with Booklist or the American Library Association. 

Booklist will never accept payment from authors or publishers to promote books or other materials.  Please check here for updates, including information regarding the official Booklist Instagram site, which will launch soon.

Booklist Review of the Day

The Half Life of Valery K
by Natasha Pulley

Historical fantasy has been British writer Pulley’s speciality in her previous novels, including The Kingdoms (2021), but in this galvanizing tale, the facts need no such embellishment. ​




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

Read-alikes: Russian Lies and Nuclear Roulette
by Donna Seaman

The Half Life of Valery K rekindles awareness of the appalling consequences of Russian tyranny and lies and the implicit yet all-too-often hidden risks of nuclear power. The imaginative and incisive historical novels recommended here explore various aspects of these themes in different settings and from different personal perspectives.

Navigating Newbery: Adding Context with Read-alongs
by Books for Youth Editors

Advances in technology have made it easier than ever for contemporary authors to access reams of research about eras and locations to enrich and enliven stories about the past, and shifts in critical approaches to history have brought to light long-buried perspectives on important world events. 

Shelf Care Interview IconThe Shelf Care Interview: Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks to Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson, creators of Barb and the Ghost Blade, the sequel to Barb the Berzerker

Top 10 Reference: 2022
By Susan Maguire

​These top 10 reference books were reviewed in Booklist between May 15, 2021 and May 1, 2022, and represent useful resources for libraries of all sizes.

Top 10 Historical Fiction on Audio for Youth
by Heather Booth

Notable on this year’s list are verse novels, new perspectives on classics, and the first appearance of a post-9/11–set title as historical fiction for young listeners.

Top 10 Historical Fiction Debuts: 2022
By Donna Seaman

The first-time historical novelists called out here as the best in a year of many excellent debut works bring fluency in history, emotional intelligence, and vivid imagination to tales of individuals navigating tyranny, war, exile, racism, and love around the world.  

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^