Advanced Search

ANNOUNCEMENT

@booklist_hq is an Instagram site that does not have any affiliation with Booklist or the American Library Association. 

Booklist will never accept payment from authors or publishers to promote books or other materials.  Please check here for updates, including information regarding the official Booklist Instagram site, which will launch soon.

Booklist Review of the Day

Mercury Pictures Presents
by Anthony Marra

​In 1941, Maria Lagana has risen to the rank of associate producer at Mercury Pictures, a fledgling movie studio run by Artie Feldman, the fast-talking, quick-witted impresario of B-movies constantly seeking the imprimatur of the Production Code.




Reviews in This Issue

Current Features

promo image of Rhys Darby from Our Flag Means DeathBuccaneers & Scallywags: Read-alikes for Our Flag Means Death
By Biz Hyzy​

Set during the Golden Age of Piracy, Our Flag Means Death follows Stede Bonnet (Rhys Darby), an aristocrat who abandons his worldly comforts in favor of pirating aboard a ship called the Revenge.

Booklist Backlist: Medieval Times
by Julia Smith

Ready your flagons and dragons, your steeds and noble deeds because we’ve got a plethora of medieval tales for middle-grade readers coming at you. Lindsay Eager’s Patron Thief of Bread is out this month, and these books will make fantastic company for it—perhaps displayed on a round table? Just a thought.

Read-alikes: Russian Lies and Nuclear Roulette
by Donna Seaman

The Half Life of Valery K rekindles awareness of the appalling consequences of Russian tyranny and lies and the implicit yet all-too-often hidden risks of nuclear power. The imaginative and incisive historical novels recommended here explore various aspects of these themes in different settings and from different personal perspectives.

Shelf Care Interview IconThe Shelf Care Interview: Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson

In this episode of the Shelf Care Interview, Sarah Hunter talks to Dan Abdo and Jason Patterson, creators of Barb and the Ghost Blade, the sequel to Barb the Berzerker

Navigating Newbery: Adding Context with Read-alongs
by Books for Youth Editors

Advances in technology have made it easier than ever for contemporary authors to access reams of research about eras and locations to enrich and enliven stories about the past, and shifts in critical approaches to history have brought to light long-buried perspectives on important world events. 

Top 10 Reference: 2022
By Susan Maguire

​These top 10 reference books were reviewed in Booklist between May 15, 2021 and May 1, 2022, and represent useful resources for libraries of all sizes.

Top 10 Historical Fiction on Audio for Youth
by Heather Booth

Notable on this year’s list are verse novels, new perspectives on classics, and the first appearance of a post-9/11–set title as historical fiction for young listeners.

Digital Editions

FOLLOW BOOKLIST!
^